Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2003, 07:43 AM
DBX165 DBX165 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 74
Default Digi 001 Ref. Level?

I finally bought A/D converters for my Digi001.

In order to calibrate it properly to the Digi001 I need to know what Digi's Ref. level is.
I think I read somewhere that the 888's are -16 but don't know about the 001.
Anyone know?

Any other tips before I hook my converter up? (Panasonic wz-ad96)
Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2003, 09:53 AM
archtop archtop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Stanwood Wa.
Posts: 422
Default Re: Digi 001 Ref. Level?

Pretty sure it's the same, -16 (pro balanced +4)
the tip that I needed when I hooked up my converters
(Lucid ADA 8824) was to set the sync optical (lucid)
not internal (digi).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2003, 10:33 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Digi 001 Ref. Level?

Reference level can be set to anything you want it to be... so long as you know what equals 0dBVU on your system.

i.e.

+4dBu = 0dBVU = -20dBFS (full scale, digital)

This reference level is standard in post production facilities and in film. It is conservative in order to maintain headroom for dynamic range/peaks.

Some mastering houses use -12dBFS as their reference level. Then there are various studios that use ref. levels anywhere between -20 and -12.

HOWEVER - the main point is - since you're no longer using the 001's converters, you need not be concerned with the 001's ref. level... and the Pro Tools app itself does not have a standard ref. level. This can easily be a very confusing topic, so I'd suggest reading up at Bob Katz' website www.digido.com

Click on "Articles" and go to "Level Practices". Read both parts...over and over until you understand it (it may take a few re-reads). Enjoy.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2003, 11:21 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,324
Default Re: Digi 001 Ref. Level?

I went to the Digido page and I think I found what we are looking for, here is the direct link:
Info page
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6p, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2003, 11:51 AM
DBX165 DBX165 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 74
Default Re: Digi 001 Ref. Level?

Thanx guys,
I have a lot to read.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2003, 08:36 PM
Doc Doc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Digi 001 Ref. Level?

Bob Katz' website is very informative and full of useful and sensible information. I have just implemented the K-System in my studio and hope this will become widely accepted.
It turns out that most of my previous mixes conformed fairly closely to the K-14 system anyway. I'd much rather my mixes sound dynamic, clean and open as opposed to the current trend of 'Louder than everyone else'. Give it a try and you'll most likely realise how much of a limitation your LE rig isn't .
There seem to be so many people that have forgotten how good a decent mix can sound even on plain old 16 bit CD.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002...Time to take it to the next level.. universoul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-19-2006 05:25 PM
888/24 digi level problems markatrain Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-08-2005 02:42 AM
Digi fixes buss level bug filmixer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-25-2004 12:27 AM
Is your DIGI 002 Level??? bizeee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-08-2004 07:02 AM
Line level in Digi 002 reyalp General Discussion 1 12-01-2003 07:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com