Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2017, 12:20 AM
jimmivalentino jimmivalentino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 15
Default Hotkey/MIDI Message to switch Touchscreen Softkeys on Artist Control + PT | Control

Hi, long time lurker, first time member. Feels good.

What I want to know, is there anyway I can get Eucontrol to respond to a script or hotkey or MIDI message that is not directly integrated into Eucontrol?

I'm using my Artist Series units with a couple apps that don't support EUCON protocol, and I want to know if there's a way that I can change the touchscreen page on my Artist Control or the PT Control App with like a keyboard shortcut or MIDI message or some other external command, as happens when I use my surface with Logic or PT.

Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2017, 11:09 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,598
Default Re: Hotkey/MIDI Message to switch Touchscreen Softkeys on Artist Control + PT | Contr

You should be able to make a new Softkey Appset for any application. Just make sure you are focused on whatever App you want and go to the Softkey Programmer and add Keyboard shortcuts to some keys. Then when you switch between App the Softkeys will be relevant to the App's (As long as you dont have any Apps locked)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2017, 11:31 AM
jimmivalentino jimmivalentino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hotkey/MIDI Message to switch Touchscreen Softkeys on Artist Control + PT | Contr

Hi Eddie

Opposite direction. Say I am in the scenario of working with a musician or someone else. They've never used a surface before and are more comfortable with a mouse. But I have all my softkeys doing complex macros and want access to them at all times. Say they've opened the mixer in a DAW and the DAW sends MIDI or EUCON feedback to eucontrol that it is open. I'm looking for a way to make that DAW feedback switch my surface to an appropriate touchscreen page without having to touch the surface basically, so that if they're using the mouse I can still get at my appropriate softkey pages with minimal fuss. Or alternatively, the ability to switch the softkey pagesusing a physical keyboard shortcut, which could be tethered to any other software using sometime like Keyboard Maestro or Autohotkey.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2017, 12:17 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,598
Default Re: Hotkey/MIDI Message to switch Touchscreen Softkeys on Artist Control + PT | Contr

I get you. What I said would work for 1 page per Application. There's no way to change pages after that 1 page though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What file stores the softkeys settings on the Artist Control? K_BCN Artist Series 10 10-07-2017 12:49 AM
Artist Control - Touchscreen changes color of buttons Feinbeat Artist Series 9 07-05-2017 08:00 PM
Artist Control - Touchscreen buttons white overlay ChrisSnyder Artist Series 3 12-19-2016 01:06 PM
Copy/Paste or Move for Artist Control softkeys? hanksinclair Artist Series 17 01-30-2016 09:52 AM
Mousepad on the Artist Control under softkeys YYR123 Artist Series 0 06-06-2014 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com