Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2000, 02:47 PM
rgriff rgriff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood Ca.
Posts: 374
Default OS 8.6 or 9.0 w/ 001 ?

I am running Mac OS 8.6 on a 9500 w/ newertech G3400,no real problems,but heard 8.6 was unstable,I also use premiere 5.1, should I upgrade to Mac OS 9.0 ?
Rgriff

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2000, 04:01 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: OS 8.6 or 9.0 w/ 001 ?

Is 8.6 unstable for YOU? I think that's the most important part.



------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2000, 04:16 PM
dans dans is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boston
Posts: 440
Default Re: OS 8.6 or 9.0 w/ 001 ?

As far as stability goes, 8.6 is great. I use it on my G3/350 w/ 001. I use 9 at work where I have a G4 and it crashes far more often. But lwilliam is right, if it's not broken, don't fix it. Don't upgrade to 9 if you're working smooth with 8.6 unless there is a feature you want from 9 not available in 8.6.
__________________
It's not what you know that is important...it's what you can figure out.

G4 1.25DP/FW800/1.25GB/OS X 10.3.5/Digi 001/LE 6.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2000, 05:15 PM
rgriff rgriff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood Ca.
Posts: 374
Default Re: OS 8.6 or 9.0 w/ 001 ?

Thanks for the help,I will stick with 8.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2000, 11:41 PM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: OS 8.6 or 9.0 w/ 001 ?

...on the flipside, I'm running PT 5/001 with OS9 without a glitch. It's really a matter of taste, I suppose. You'd probably be better off waiting for OSX.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com