Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2011, 02:28 PM
OnTrak OnTrak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 5
Default Problem Installing from DVD Pro Tools 9 on Lion

I have a Mac Pro and with Lion OS and had bought Pro Tools 9 from Guitar Center. I know you need the update of 9.05 to work with Lion but how can you update if you cannot install the previous version of 9.0?

When I tried to install 9.0 it said it failed and to try again? Will Pro Tools 9 install on Lion?

If not what can I do? I did not buy a download copy from Avid so I cannot just download full version of 9.05 since I have disks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2011, 02:38 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: Problem Installing from DVD Pro Tools 9 on Lion

Create an account at Avid.com and Register your PT9.

Within your Avid account will be a "My Products" link - follow that and under PT9 you'll be able to open up a 'downloads' section, within there will be a full 9.0.5 installer you can download.

--note from Avid: Software installers are only added to Your Products in an avid.com account if you purchase+activate software online, not if you register a boxed copy.

Last edited by AvidCS; 09-02-2011 at 05:40 PM. Reason: Clarified the Avid Account info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2011, 03:10 PM
OnTrak OnTrak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem Installing from DVD Pro Tools 9 on Lion

i created an account but it never gave me an opportunity to register just asked for email and other info. Then i go to My Products and it simply states i have not downloaded any products.

To be perfectly clear, my product was already registered since it was installed on another machine. I was uninstalled and that machine was no longer working. New Mac Pro has Lion on it. I had already made an Avid account and when i did there was no way to link my pre-registered product with my account, which is totally strange. I tried to registered again only to be told it is already registered. I will just give them a call. It should not be this hard to since i have valid reg. code and everything.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2011, 10:11 PM
riddimgangsta riddimgangsta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 1
Thumbs down Re: Problem Installing from DVD Pro Tools 9 on Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by KMcK View Post
--note from Avid: Software installers are only added to Your Products in an avid.com account if you purchase+activate software online, not if you register a boxed copy.



I love how Avid has the time to tell him his advice isn't true but doesn't have the time to reply to your question and help us all out!

I'm having the same issue. Have a new mac pro on lion. can't install SL. can't install PT9 from a brand new retail DVD. can't download from the site.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2011, 10:29 AM
FacuPuig FacuPuig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Argentina
Posts: 3
Default Re: Problem Installing from DVD Pro Tools 9 on Lion

Me too, same problem, Hello Avid?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2011, 05:28 PM
Hercules Hercules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 121
Default Re: Problem Installing from DVD Pro Tools 9 on Lion

After you install PT9 DON'T try to start it. Just install PT9.0.5 straight over it - then start PT9.0.5.

I have PT9.0.5 running on a MBP with Lion - it worked perfectly following those steps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem opening/installing "10.3.8.dmg" in Mountain Lion tony20970 macOS 1 02-15-2014 09:50 AM
Pro Tools 10 Crossgrade not installing on Mountain Lion penfold07 macOS 8 11-26-2012 02:31 AM
Pro Tools 10 on Mountain Lion HELP INSTALLING anulley macOS 0 11-01-2012 01:06 AM
Installing Pro Tools 9.05 on Mountain Lion rogerwilco2000 macOS 2 09-05-2012 09:33 PM
'Installation Failed' installing Pro Tools MP 8.0.2 on OS X Lion FuryMuso Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 06-03-2012 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com