Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2005, 03:39 PM
GoneIndie GoneIndie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default AES/EBU Bounce Offset

Hey All,

In a 192 session I was trying to save processing by bouncing tracks down. The only way that sounded right was to make a short aes/ebu db25 - db25 patch cable and bounce the tracks down that way. Is there any way to determine what the offset of the bounced tracks is?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2005, 03:48 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: AES/EBU Bounce Offset

Bounce a single click and compare the original to the bounced track.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2005, 04:57 PM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: AES/EBU Bounce Offset

ProTools HD system w/192

main ch/pre send out thru a buss to an aux is 6 samples
main ch/pre send out thru a buss, recorded on a track is 10 samples

post send out to a buss, to an aux is 10 samples
post send out thru a buss, recorded on a track is 14 samples

main ch/pre send out thru an analog output, return thru an analog input, to an aux is 99 samples
main ch/pre send out thru an analog output, return thru an analog input, recorded on a track is 103 samples

post send to an analog output, return thru an analog input, to an aux is 103 samples
post send to an analog output, return thru an analog input, recorded on a track is 107 samples

main ch/pre send out thru the enclosed AES output, return thru enclosed AES input, to an aux is 17 samples

main ch/pre send out thru the regular AES output, return thru the regular AES input, to an aux is 20 samples


conclusion:
buss to aux is 6 samples
post send adds 4 samples
recording on a track adds 4 samples
analog loop is 99 samples
enclosed AES loop is 17 samples
regular AES loop is 20 samples
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:11 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: AES/EBU Bounce Offset

Yes, but if he has ADC enabled... he may have no delay.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:31 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,836
Default Re: AES/EBU Bounce Offset

and if he is doing a record for beck, he'd have odelay.
and if he were doing a record of swiss alpine singers, he'd have yodel-ay
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:25 PM
GoneIndie GoneIndie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default Re: AES/EBU Bounce Offset

The sample rate of the session is 192 and I am bouncing from one track in the session to another (in the same session) going through the AES/EBU db-25 cable in dual wire mode with no SRC. If the delay is 20 samples does the length of cable matter? If the cable were 3000 ft long wouldnt the offset be longer? I know that is rediculous, but once the signal leaves the system how can you account for how long it takes to return. I dont think digi should stop until the sample rate is the speed of light. The HDc system would really capture the high end I bet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offline bounce offset Peter Baird Pro Tools 11 5 01-15-2014 02:19 PM
Video Sync Offset/Bounce question efisch Post - Surround - Video 2 02-18-2009 11:42 AM
aes/ebu bounce offset GoneIndie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-24-2005 01:09 PM
DIGI! Midi Offset and bounce to disk? Problems! P_J 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-01-2001 11:33 AM
DC Offset during bounce psjosten Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-28-1999 02:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com