Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #6921  
Old 11-15-2021, 09:06 AM
fiddlecat's Avatar
fiddlecat fiddlecat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 89
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Many thanks! Just the kind of info/reality-check I need to get started.

Once I get down to an exact proposed system I'll check in again here before giving NewEgg my credit card numbers...
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.10 & 10.3.0
Windows 11 Professional / 64-bit
Roland Octa-Capture
Reply With Quote
  #6922  
Old 11-17-2021, 06:49 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
K vs KF? My K has integrated graphics, but I use a dedicated NVidea GPU instead. I could've saved a few bucks with KF, but opted for K (as a backup). https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...057824/graphic

Your build will likely be a power monster that should future-proof you for a good while!

I am curious about one thing with these builds, which is the performance when using PT to play VI's with external MIDI controller. In my ancient of days current system, there's a lot of VI's such as Omnisphere or Falcon, where I can't set the buffer below 256k ever when trying to play the VI, and usually 512k. That sometimes (often actually) creates noticeable delay issues when playing. So, with the builds you're all discussing, what buffer settings are you able to use when playing VI's controlled externally? 32? 64? Just curious how they perform.



Also, do you ever get the "You've run out CPU power" alert with these set ups?



Thanks.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #6923  
Old 11-17-2021, 07:19 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,370
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
... what buffer settings are you able to use when playing VI's controlled externally?

... do you ever get the "You've run out CPU power" alert
64

No
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #6924  
Old 11-17-2021, 07:36 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
64

No

Thanks, Gary. One more question. In looking at the CPU chip at Newegg it says 3.4Ghz. But you said you're system is running at 5.1GHz. Is there a different CPU chip model? I don't understand the difference.



Also, it appears that the RAM chips you specified are all currently "out of stock!" Oh joy!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #6925  
Old 11-17-2021, 10:08 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,370
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Thanks, Gary. One more question. In looking at the CPU chip at Newegg it says 3.4Ghz. But you said you're system is running at 5.1GHz. Is there a different CPU chip model? I don't understand the difference.



Also, it appears that the RAM chips you specified are all currently "out of stock!" Oh joy!
Yeah, CPU clock rate is confusing.

To run @ buffer 64, a fast CPU helps. The CPU clock is set in bios, and it's actually pretty simple. Manufacturer specs list "base" clock and "boost" clock. Turbo boost is generally not advised for Pro Tools since throttling up or down might adversely affect performance. Disable it in bios. While my particular CPU model claims "boost up to 5.3GHz", I decided to go conservative with a constant (turbo boost off) all-core clock of 5.1. I think the Intel published 5.3 number is marketing hype designed to sell chips to gamers; I'm not a gamer & only want stability. There's a LOT of crazy gamer over-clocker tricks out there (beware), but I found simple/conservative/solid bios settings called "Strategy #2: Traditional Approach" here: https://skatterbencher.com/2021/04/0...d-to-5500-mhz/ I'm no expert on bios, so I simply typed-in these settings like a cookbook, and it worked perfectly! Conservative/safe operating temps, too! By the way, I use air cooling (not liquid) with low-RPM fans and a fan-less titanium PSU; it all runs really quiet.

When I pushed "buy" for my build in June 2021 (before 12th gen was available), I went with 11th gen/Z590/DDR4-3600. Intel 9th gen was pretty darn good ... 10th & 11th gen refined/matured that chip technology further ... 12th gen is brand new tech, but it's awesome. I think right now for Pro Tools, you can't go wrong with 10th gen i7/i9 Z490, 11th gen i7/i9 Z590, or 12th gen i5(!)/i7/i9 Z690. These chips provide tons of CPU headroom. (Note: AMD Ryzen & Apple M1 are decent chips too, but I have no personal experience with them for Pro Tools.)

Ram: depends on your CPU/MB. If you go 12th gen/Z690, you might as well get DDR5.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #6926  
Old 11-17-2021, 10:50 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Yeah, CPU clock rate is confusing.

To run @ buffer 64, a fast CPU helps. The CPU clock is set in bios, and it's actually pretty simple. Manufacturer specs list "base" clock and "boost" clock. Turbo boost is generally not advised for Pro Tools since throttling up or down might adversely affect performance. Disable it in bios. While my particular CPU model claims "boost up to 5.3GHz", I decided to go conservative with a constant (turbo boost off) all-core clock of 5.1. I think the Intel published 5.3 number is marketing hype designed to sell chips to gamers; I'm not a gamer & only want stability. There's a LOT of crazy gamer over-clocker tricks out there (beware), but I found simple/conservative/solid bios settings called "Strategy #2: Traditional Approach" here: https://skatterbencher.com/2021/04/0...d-to-5500-mhz/ I'm no expert on bios, so I simply typed-in these settings like a cookbook, and it worked perfectly! Conservative/safe operating temps, too! By the way, I use air cooling (not liquid) with low-RPM fans and a fan-less titanium PSU; it all runs really quiet.

When I pushed "buy" for my build in June 2021 (before 12th gen was available), I went with 11th gen/Z590/DDR4-3600. Intel 9th gen was pretty darn good ... 10th & 11th gen refined/matured that chip technology further ... 12th gen is brand new tech, but it's awesome. I think right now for Pro Tools, you can't go wrong with 10th gen i7/i9 Z490, 11th gen i7/i9 Z590, or 12th gen i5(!)/i7/i9 Z690. These chips provide tons of CPU headroom. (Note: AMD Ryzen & Apple M1 are decent chips too, but I have no personal experience with them for Pro Tools.)

Ram: depends on your CPU/MB. If you go 12th gen/Z690, you might as well get DDR5.

Gary - Thank you so much for all this info. This really helps me!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #6927  
Old 11-17-2021, 11:32 PM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 246
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Win 11 build:

i9-12900K
MSI PRO Z690-A DDR4 (due to DDR5 prices/availability, and having 2x hopefully HDX-capable PCIe slots)
Noctua NH-D15 CPU Cooler
Kingston Fury Beast 64GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16
Samsung 980 Pro 1TB M.2 PCIe 4.0 (OS)
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB M.2 PCIe 3.0 (Main audio)
Corsair HX1000 1000W PSU

I already had/ migrated these:

Fractal Designs Define R6 case
2x WD Black 6TB
GPU (a few options, possibly the Mac flashed GTX780 from my MP to start with)

PT confirmed to be working (so "untested"?) and the power is massive, but HDX testing to commence. Fingers crossed...
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.12

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.

Last edited by Skwaidu; 11-18-2021 at 08:49 AM. Reason: Typo in the mobo spec
Reply With Quote
  #6928  
Old 11-18-2021, 07:34 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,370
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwaidu View Post
... i9-12900K
MSI PRO Z290-A ...
12th gen CPUs are socket LGA1700, so you'll need a Z690 MB.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #6929  
Old 11-18-2021, 08:49 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 246
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
12th gen CPUs are socket LGA1700, so you'll need a Z690 MB.
And that was a typo, fixed.
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.12

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #6930  
Old 11-18-2021, 08:51 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 246
Default Re: i7 Builds - Specs and Results

Preliminary results: HDX2 recognized. I didn't yet have time to try with the DSP mixer and using the 2nd card digilink as well, as I had suspicions about that slot (MSI are unclear if that slot 4 is PCIe 3.0 x4 or x1, even though the seller page stated x4...)
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.12

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2416 02-19-2013 07:49 PM
new to pc builds chazc080488 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-18-2011 07:10 PM
any p45 builds fofif5792 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2008 12:47 PM
OSX "builds" Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-18-2004 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com