Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2011, 01:49 PM
groversi groversi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Madrid
Posts: 13
Smile Usb Mbox or Firewire Mbox???

Hello, guys.

Please forgive my writing, english is not my native language.

I am about to go to Guitar Center to buy a DAW. I am thinking about Minimbox 3, Mbox 3 and MBOX Pro 3.

My real concern is what is the truth about USB versus Firewire?

Now, I have a DIGI003 Rack, but I barely use so many channels. I just need two Inputs. I was thinking about the Mini Mbox, but this is USB 1.1 and with no Low Latency monitoring. So, the real question is:

Is it worthy and noticable the difference in performance, latency, channels numbers in Protools, RTAS plugins performance, etc of the Firewire against the USB? If I buy an USB MBOX, I would not be able to record without latency? Wouldn't I be able to load large sessions with several RTAS Plugins and Virtual Instruments in Protools??

Thanks a lot for your help.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:53 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,882
Default Re: Usb Mbox or Firewire Mbox???

That doesn't have nearly as much to do with the interface as it does the sheer power of your host computer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:06 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Usb Mbox or Firewire Mbox???

Why not stick with you 003 and spend your money upgrading your computer?
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:40 AM
groversi groversi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Madrid
Posts: 13
Default Re: Usb Mbox or Firewire Mbox???

Hi, guys, thank you very much for your answer. So what would be the real difference between an USB MBOX an a Firewire MBOX? Quality? Latency?

I'd like to keep DIGi003, but I think I need to sell it and have something with less inputs and outputs.

Also, I am thinking to get a better computer.

Thanks again and regards

Giancarlo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire or USB? Mbox Mini 3 or Mbox Pro 2? mbrizendine FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 4 10-12-2013 01:10 PM
Mbox + USB vs Mbox Pro + Firewire ToddnTodd Windows 5 05-31-2011 12:41 PM
Mbox 2 USB Vs Mbox 2 Pro firewire cinetj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-25-2008 03:55 PM
Mbox 2 USB or Mbox 2 Pro Firewire mal777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-01-2007 07:58 PM
Firewire Mbox? eboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-07-2003 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com