Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2008, 01:20 PM
neilshah neilshah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default Bounce to Quicktime movies have no playback audio on 003

I work on some music for video. When I bounce to Quicktime the resulting Quicktime movie's audio doesn't play back through my Digi 003. The 003 engages and switches to "Working..." status, but there's no sound.

The audio works fine when the movie is played back through my MacBook Pro Core Audio device. Also, when I send the movies out to studios running HD systems, none have mentioned any problems with the audio. In fact, the audio in the bounced Quicktime movies seem to playback fine on any audio setup other than my 003.

So I currently just preview the file to make sure it's ok through Mac core audio. But I think this is a bug with the Pro Tools Quicktime Bounce--maybe just in my particular configuration. But I use a pretty standard setup, so I thought it would be good to get the word on DUC in case anyone else has dealt with this.

I've checked on Mac forums for issues relating to Quicktime and on the Duc and have found information about error messages coming up about the audio in a Quicktime movie. But this is different since it's only on the 003 playback, and there is no error message.

The audio Bounce settings are 44.1 at 16 bit.

I'm running Pro Tools 7.3 with a Digi 003 on a MacBook Pro with OSX 10.4.9

If anyone else has encountered this, please share... thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2008, 03:51 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime movies have no playback audio on 003

This is a result of updating to Quicktime 7.3, have no idea whether 7.4.1 resolves this, it was still a problem with 7.4, you have two choices other than restores.

1) When the QT movie is playing, open up OSX sound prefs, switch to built in audio then back to digi core audio, the sound will then be heard.

2) Use VLC or something else similar instead.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2008, 04:26 PM
neilshah neilshah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime movies have no playback audio on 003

Hey thanks for the reply. Switching the output to built-in and then back to 003 worked. Weird bug. I'll check out VLC player. Thanks again~
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce to Quicktime with 5.1 audio? potatohead Post - Surround - Video 2 10-31-2007 11:51 AM
Quicktime bounce results in mono audio davidark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-29-2006 05:59 PM
Bounce To Quicktime Only Outputs Audio Willard Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 08-29-2005 07:27 PM
Playback of quicktime movies via firewire Akasha 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 02-24-2005 12:12 PM
Is there a limit to the bounce length of quicktime movies in PTLE 6.0? musicelect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-04-2003 11:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com