Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2021, 01:06 PM
DesertPigeon DesertPigeon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4
Default Plugins crashing Pro Tools

I seriously need help here.

I have a handful of plugins that once they're opened the plugin window goes white and will just freeze up and crash pro tools. Last time I brought this up I was told to contact the manufacturer despite these plugins working with OBS and in their standalones and it felt like I was being brushed under the carpet.

the problem plugins:
Raum and the odd time Kontakt (Native Instruments)
Infinity EQ (Slate Digital)
AirEQ and E2Deesser (Eiosis)

the troubleshooting I've tried:
removing all plugins bar Infinity EQ, even as the only plugin it freezes
reinstalling pro tools
reinstalling the plugins
reinstalling Native Access and Slate Connect
updating my graphics driver to see if it was a graphical error

nothing is working and if it's a problem with plugins from different manufacturers, it's probably a Pro Tools issue.

I do wonder if its a graphical issue of some kind because the plugins still work if they're already in the session/imported in, it's just opening the interface that crashes them

This is what I am seeing when it happens:
Capture.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2021, 01:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,577
Default Re: Plugins crashing Pro Tools

Known problem, plugins need to be up to date with the PT/OS combination you are using.

Plugins may cause trouble even if they are simply loaded into memory, they do not need to be instantiated in a session. So your first step in troubleshooting is to move plugins to unused plugins folder and see if PT works as it should. Then move the plugins back one at the time, and you should find out which one gives you trouble.

Or you an just update everything so that plugin versions match your setup.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2021, 02:46 PM
DesertPigeon DesertPigeon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4
Default Re: Plugins crashing Pro Tools

so I tried moving everything to unused, unfortunately no luck.
it seems the plugins work on smaller sessions but if I load them onto say band sessions they just crash. if I load a session with them already loaded on an insert slot they still work just fine, I just can't open them which makes me wonder if its a graphical thing? but then why would it open on small session? I updated my drivers anyway but no luck yet, going to see if I can get hold of legacy versions of the specific plugins but thought I'd update incase there was anything to the graphics idea
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2021, 02:57 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,577
Default Re: Plugins crashing Pro Tools

Well for further help you may want to take a look at that Help Us Help You page that is linked to the forum header, and check your system compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 plugins crashing Pro Tools freakhouse macOS 2 09-19-2021 11:51 AM
Pro Tools Always Crashing with two simultaneous plugins running Alexlimbert Pro Tools 12 8 06-30-2017 07:20 AM
Pro Tools crashing after loading plugins AAE Error -9178 mremcbride Windows 3 12-07-2016 12:57 PM
Plugins Crashing gwsoundguy VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 08-04-2009 01:24 PM
Pro Tools M-Powered 8CS3 crashing while loading plugins? vseanv Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-30-2009 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com