Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2021, 12:20 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,373
Default Monterey is now available

I just saw that MacOS 12.0 Monterey is out. Any early adopters? I'm pretty stable right now and hesitant to mess things up at the moment. I need to run out and get another external SSD for cloning my system before taking the jump. I'm still on an Intel Mac. I also saw MacOS 11.6.1 is out too (or did I miss that earlier)
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2021, 06:06 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 242
Default Re: Monterey is now available

Installed Monterey on a MacBook Air M1 - Pro Tools hangs on launch when scanning plugins. Womp womp womp.
__________________
2020 M1 MacBook Air -16GB RAM - 1TB SSD.
PT 2021.3.1 Native (actually works).
PT 2021.7 (still beachballs).
Life is like an Analogy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2021, 06:15 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,629
Default Re: Monterey is now available

Day 1 of release?

Damn! You guys are keen.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2021, 07:28 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 242
Default Re: Monterey is now available

I have another older machine.

Pro Tools 2021.7 will load if I clear the plug-in directory - some plug-in or another is causing the problem. Any tips for identifying the culprit?
__________________
2020 M1 MacBook Air -16GB RAM - 1TB SSD.
PT 2021.3.1 Native (actually works).
PT 2021.7 (still beachballs).
Life is like an Analogy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2021, 07:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: Monterey is now available

I have Monterey here on fully loaded M1 mac mini. No problems that were not there in Big Sur.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2021, 08:02 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Monterey is now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Day 1 of release?

Damn! You guys are keen.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Indeed! HaHa!!
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician/MPSE
http://www.gregives.com


Protools 2022.4 Flex/AKA Ultimate Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM,Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Monterey 12.4 Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.7.4 DOLBY ATMOS Facility
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2021, 08:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: Monterey is now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
Indeed! HaHa!!
Well obviously if you need to have glitch free experience day in day out, be sure you have a good Intel-based computer and a clean install of Catalina on it.

In my case though, I am between projects and there are couple of studios and freelancers that need my input about Apple Silicon and newer operating systems. So I for now am glad just testing things with old sessions.

Yesterday (day one) there were some glitches, but I am pretty sure it was because Spotlight was indexing extensively. Today (day two) those glitches were gone.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2021, 08:48 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 242
Default Re: Monterey is now available

Looks like I may need to do a Clean Install. I really don't want to because I'm lazy and I don't love the idea of spending hours and hours downloading and installing software but it's either that or use my much weaker intel based system.
__________________
2020 M1 MacBook Air -16GB RAM - 1TB SSD.
PT 2021.3.1 Native (actually works).
PT 2021.7 (still beachballs).
Life is like an Analogy.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2021, 11:06 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,337
Default Re: Monterey is now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCnSTL View Post
Looks like I may need to do a Clean Install. I really don't want to because I'm lazy and I don't love the idea of spending hours and hours downloading and installing software but it's either that or use my much weaker intel based system.
Just do it, I say.
I've been using OS clean install on macs since OSX came out, and I have never been disappointed with the result, for both PT performance and general stability. Always been worth the effort.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6p, Faderport 16, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2021, 01:01 PM
lucas f. lucas f. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: paris
Posts: 37
Default Re: Monterey is now available

Anyone on 2021.3 , using the video engine on am m1 mac mini made the monterrey jump?

Envoyé de mon SM-G960F en utilisant Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas? off the wall macOS 28 11-17-2021 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com