Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2008, 04:43 PM
bxbwbk bxbwbk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Question PT8...new keyboard / keyboard layout ?

Wondering if there are plans for a new Digidesign keyboard (from logickeyboard), or will the current ALU edition still be the standard ?
Is a new/expanded keyboard layout in order ?
Maybe a backlit keyboard is in order ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2008, 06:17 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT8...new keyboard / keyboard layout ?

any and evey keyboard you could want
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2008, 07:02 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: PT8...new keyboard / keyboard layout ?

$1700... wow. Neat idea, small market...
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2008, 05:41 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 430
Default Re: PT8...new keyboard / keyboard layout ?

funny enough, I have the optimus 3 keyboard that I use for pro-tools functions, it's "ok"

I saw the full optimus keyboard in a gadet shop in the UK for £1300, I asked to see it and have a look, and the construction was not great, the keys where but the chassis around it felt quite weak.

I'd want more for my £1300
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2009, 12:16 PM
spaids spaids is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Louis Missouri USA
Posts: 163
Default Re: PT8...new keyboard / keyboard layout ?

Matt,

Its just ok? Seems like it would be freakin awesome! You have your short cuts on the keys and nothing else? Can you easily switch around what the keys display?
__________________
q6600-ASUS P5K SE(P35),2GB Crucial BallistexDDR2 800,ASUS EN7200GS 256MB,80GbMaxtor-80GBWestern Digital,Samsung SATA DVD burner,Mbox2 PTLE 7.4cs7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:06 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 430
Default Re: PT8...new keyboard / keyboard layout ?

Hi,

just to be clear, I've not got the full optimu keyboard, just the mini - 3 button version.

And yes - it's "fine" I have stop/start recording, punch and rewind all in, one of the cool functions is you can set the keys depending on the "mode".

eg: record mode (when a track is record enabled) the keys map to stop/start/punch/rewind, if I put into "edit" mode it's stop/start playback, jog forward and back,

if the midi track is record enabled it goes to undo and nudge forward/backward so it's easy to edit, so yes, it is better than "ok" but it takes a bit of effort to setup, and 3 keys are quite limiting.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:13 AM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: PT8...new keyboard / keyboard layout ?

Their new 15 key one looks quite useful.
I have a bunch of functions mapped on my mouse (MX Revolution) already. My keyboard tray has no more room on it, maybe if I had a keyboard without a num pad I'd get one.
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MC-Pro How To Change from English to German Keyboard Layout? moacito System 5 1 01-30-2013 07:20 AM
Cannot switch input language/keyboard layout when I start PT as admin Kirby B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-02-2010 11:04 AM
Strike Keyboard Layout not in sync with MIDI Controller Martin Finnerty Virtual Instruments 3 08-07-2007 03:24 AM
Keyboard language/Layout lode 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-12-2007 02:20 AM
where to get PT keyboard layout stickers? andre tchmil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-14-2003 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com