Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2008, 04:54 PM
Brickk Brickk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Help: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch -- 6004 error

I’m having a problem with my recently upgraded computer. I have a Digi001 running Pro Tools LE 6.4. and Windows XP cs9 and 6, Service Pack 3.

Upon launching Pro Tools, it gets stuck at “Creating DAE Objects,” whereupon a window pops up proclaiming, "DAE was unable to communicate with the audio hardware. Please save your session and restart your computer. (-6004)" Similar to the problem in this thread: http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...Number=1276705

The Digi 001 and the cable are fine: they work in the other computer, as they have for years. At one point, the DigiTest showed “Bus Master failed,” but presently it’s no longer showing us that failure. Also, we had this problem when running Service Pack 2 – so SP3 is not the problem.

Over the past couple weeks, we have tried everything we could think of and have exhausted our options searching every possible thread on this board. Tried all PCI slots; have reinstalled Windows XP and Pro Tools numerous times; Updated the PACE drivers; tried the Dualcore Hotfix (which apparently is now included in Service Pack 3). Searched Digidesign for known incompatibility issues. The Digi error database for ~6004 doesn’t have the answer.

Presently: Video card is in a PCIe; Digi card in 1st PCI; 2nd PCI empty; 3rd PCI is SCSI adapter.

Using the suggested setup from this duc thread:
http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...=5&o=7&fpart=1

I followed these BIOS instructions (and have also tried other variations):

How to set up the BIOS on a ASUS P5K Deluxe Wi-Fi with DDR2 1066 for BIOS revision 404.

Install WindowsXP at the default BIOS settings, install all of your drivers and run Windows Update.

To enter BIOS hit the Delete key while the machine is POSTing. This will take you to the BIOS setup pages.

MAIN Page

Sata Configuration [ENHANCED]
Configure SATA as [IDE]

Advanced Page

Select [JumperFree Configuration]

And make the following changes

Dram Timing Control[1067]

Set the DRAM Timing control to Manual and verify that the following settings read

CAS# Latency [5 DRAM Clocks]
RAS# to CAS# Delay [5 DRAM Clocks]
RAS# Precharge [5 DRAM Clocks]
RAS# Active Time [15DRAM clocks]

After verifing you memory is set at the proper timing you can hit ESC and return to the JumperFree Configuration page and set the Dram Timing control back to [AUTO]

Select [CPU Configuration]

And make the following changes.

CPU Ratio Control [AUTO]
C1E Suppory [Disabled]
Max CPUID Limit [Disabled]
Vanderpool Tecnology[Disabled]
CPU TM Function [Enabled]
Execute Disable Bit [Enabled]
PECI [Enabled]
Intel SpeedStep [Disabled]

Hit ESC and return to the Advanced Page

Select Onboard Devices

And disable High Definition Audio and anything else your not going to be using... Wireless LAN, Marvell Lan, J-Micron controller ETC.


But still, the 6004 error appears.


Here’s my Sandra summary:


SiSoftware Sandra


Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2160 @ 1.80GHz
Speed : 1.81GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 1MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 4-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

System
System : System manufacturer P5K-E
Mainboard : ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5K-E
Bus(es) : ISA PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
System BIOS : American Megatrends Inc. 0806
Total Memory : 3.25GB DDR2

Chipset
Model : ASUS P35/G33/G31 Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 201MHz (804MHz)
Total Memory : 11.13GB DDR2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 402MHz (804MHz)

Video System
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS (512MB DDR2, PCIe 1.00 x16, PS 3.0, VS 3.0)

Physical Storage Devices
SEAGATE ST39204LW 9GB (SCSI, SCSI-3, 10016rpm, NCQ) : 8GB (C:)
SEAGATE ST39204LW 9GB (SCSI, SCSI-3, 10016rpm, NCQ) : 8GB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 8GB (NTFS) @ SEAGATE ST39204LW 9GB (SCSI, SCSI-3, 10016rpm, NCQ)
NEW VOLUME (D:) : 8GB (NTFS) @ SEAGATE ST39204LW 9GB (SCSI, SCSI-3, 10016rpm, NCQ)
3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : N/A

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS (ICH9) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Hub Controller 2 : ASUS (ICH9) SMBus Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : ASUS (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : ASUS (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : ASUS (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : ASUS (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 6 : ASUS (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 7 : ASUS (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 8 : ASUS (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
System SMBus Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP (2002) Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86



Any suggestions? Is something incompatible here – are other folks using the this CPU with this motherboard and Digi 001? Something we’ve overlooked?

I’d greatly appreciate any ideas.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2008, 09:47 AM
Brickk Brickk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Help: Pro Tools Won\'t Launch -- 6004 error

Bump. Any ideas? I'd be eternally grateful.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2008, 05:19 PM
Visibleman Visibleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Help: Pro Tools Won't Launch -- 6004 error

Sorry for the grave digging but i'm having similar problems - New system (Q6600, IP35 chipset board) and protools is throwing a wobbler with a 6004 error.

But looking around the Digidesign forums and i don't think we're alone on this, a lot of people seem to be having problems with running 001's on newer systems, and so far i can't find a solution
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:53 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Help: Pro Tools Won't Launch -- 6004 error

This error has many possible causes - from bad hardware to incompatible computer (or component) to incompatible plug-ins.

Have you tried the suggestions in the General Troubleshooting thread?

Update PACE drivers.
Try removing all plug-ins for testing.
Disable any extraneous hardware
Disable startup items and services

Hopefully one of those will give a clue as to where the problem is originating.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAE error -6004 anyone? DAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-07-2004 11:33 PM
G5 DAE error -6004 salvomix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-04-2003 10:20 AM
HELP - HD3 DAE Error -6004 sandlg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-28-2002 06:56 AM
Error 6004 every time I reopen Pro Tools el biciclista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-12-2002 10:25 PM
Error -6004 Help! The Log 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-23-2001 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com