Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2022, 02:15 PM
pkingduk pkingduk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Echo Park, CA.
Posts: 27
Default Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

hey there.. so since upgrading to Monterey (Was at 2021.x Protools but have upgraded to 2022.6) when I change the height of my tracks it is crazy slow. No mater which version of PT I run (2021.x - 2022.6).

Is anyone else having this issue? Is there some GPU ram purge or some kind of thing I can do to get this to stop. It's really killing my rhythm..

OS 12.4 (Monterey)
MacPro (Rack, 2019)
3.2GHz 16-Core Intel
96GB Ram
AMD Radeon Pro 580X 8GB
ProTools 2022.6
HDX x3
MTRX Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2022, 09:24 PM
Bigbottomend Bigbottomend is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 52
Default Re: Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

Same problem here on Intel iMac, PT Ultimate. Also noticed that when dragging heads and tails out clips briefly disappear before come back. I was going to revert to a previous version of Pro Tools to see if it fixed it, but thanks for your intel pkingduk, won't bother now.

It's a shame because everything else seems snappy, but this. I've tried removing all 3rd party plugins, trashing preferences, removing controllers, turned off wifi, all the other recommended tweaks, nothing fixes it.

Pro Tools 2022.6 was running smoothly under Catalina...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2022, 06:51 AM
S&T S&T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default Re: Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

We’ve been getting the same behaviour on a couple of trashcans and an intel MacBook Pro.

So far the response has been that no-one else has the issue and we should revert to Catalina.

Ive brought this thread to their attention!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2022, 07:38 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 356
Default Re: Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

Hey All,

I have the same, Mac Studio, latest OS latest PT

BUT

I had similar on Mojave and 2021.12... it's not AS bad, but still very noticeable.

It is directly related to the amount of tracks on the screen, as well as if you are showing a lot of plugins and inserts in those columns... to test, hide your insert and sends views, and it should get faster...(not practical, but at least a clue as to what it is)

It really started for me once my screen rez got over 1080 (hence more tracks)...
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2022, 08:05 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,830
Default Re: Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

Stay tuned. Very soon this should be resolved.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2022, 09:24 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 356
Default Re: Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

Wow... thanks for the quick fix!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2022, 10:20 AM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 356
Default Re: Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

OOOOh... resizing like butter now... snappy. Better than my Mojave 2021.12 rig.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2022, 01:47 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,507
Default Re: Monterey + v2022.6 track height SLOW

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkingduk View Post
hey there.. so since upgrading to Monterey (Was at 2021.x Protools but have upgraded to 2022.6) when I change the height of my tracks it is crazy slow. No mater which version of PT I run (2021.x - 2022.6).

Is anyone else having this issue? Is there some GPU ram purge or some kind of thing I can do to get this to stop. It's really killing my rhythm..

OS 12.4 (Monterey)
MacPro (Rack, 2019)
3.2GHz 16-Core Intel
96GB Ram
AMD Radeon Pro 580X 8GB
ProTools 2022.6
HDX x3
MTRX Studio


Check out the fixes in 2022.7 A bunch of UI fixes. I think they mentioned something about this.

Fixed an issue where the GUI was slow to respond when opening folder tracks on a Mac Studio running Monterey (PT-289302)
Track Resizing is no longer slow compared to Catalina when Inserts & Sends columns are showing in Edit window (PT-289313)
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-Release-Notes
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician/MPSE
http://www.gregives.com


Protools 2022.9 Ultimate Native, Avid MTRX, DADMAN MOM MonitoringModule,Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Monterey 12.6 Digital Performer 11.2, Logic Pro X 10.7.4/DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors/Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track Height in PT11 Mack Truck Pro Tools 11 2 04-21-2015 06:37 AM
track height jknourse Windows 1 07-18-2012 02:06 PM
How to LOCK a Track Height? teacherman Tips & Tricks 3 04-29-2010 06:31 PM
Track Height Bug or Setting? B-Grade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-20-2009 12:53 PM
Group Track Height won go away!!!! mstucker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-08-2007 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com