Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-16-2022, 04:23 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 859
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

I donít get it. Bird chirping? Is intel a problem on PCs? Or just macs? I have a 24 core Xeon right now, still runs the latest. Iíll look at the M1.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-16-2022, 04:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,678
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

If you buy an Intel mac it will stop getting any macOS or Pro Tools updates "soon" (for various definitions of soon) so managing updates/changes won't be an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-16-2022, 04:34 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 859
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

For a 16" MacBook Pro with M1 Iím looking at $3500?
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-16-2022, 04:36 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 859
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

That’s from the Apple website with 32G RAM
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com

Last edited by sean shannon; 07-16-2022 at 04:36 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-16-2022, 05:15 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,678
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

Are you asking if the prices on Apple website are accurate?

Personally. I would be maxing out the RAM to 64GB get longest life since it's non-upgradable. Which requires non baseline CPUs at least in the 14" MBP. And advice as always... max out the internal SSD as much as you can afford. I'd be putting all sessions and samples on that. Faster than any other drive you can connect to the MBP.

You started looking at cheap laptops to use for casual work, and now you are looking at a production studio system, maybe using the latest tech. Not a surprising difference in price.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-16-2022, 05:36 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 859
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

No, I am not asking if the prices on Apple‘s website are accurate. I’m just looking at what they are. Yes I started looking at PC laptops, and now I am also looking at MacBook pros. I do not want a teeny little 13 inch screen, so that’s why I’m looking at the 16 inch models. Since you are advising me against intel cpus, I am looking at the M1. In the end, I just need a laptop that will run ProTools ultimate and allow me to use lots of plug-ins, routing, and automation without locking up, and I can plug-in an interface and some controllers. I have a Focusrite 2i4 I use for travel, and it’s USB. And its 64 buffer is fine for tracking (latency wise). I was also looking at an external HDX card box in case the laptop by itself wasn’t enough. I appreciate the insight.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com

Last edited by sean shannon; 07-16-2022 at 05:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-16-2022, 05:53 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 859
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

The situation is that I get tracks from bands to mix all the time, usually 16 to 24 tracks. And I am producing band records a lot. Once I start adding plug-ins, synths, and effects and all that itís usually not that heavy on my main rig. Thatís why I was looking in the thousand dollar range originally. I have found myself needing to mix away from my studio more and more. Thatís why Iím looking for portability and compatibility. Iím not even sure I need more than 32GB and an i9. Again, thanks for chiming in.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-17-2022, 01:11 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 859
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

So I decided to stick my toe in the water with a used Macbook Pro, 2.9 GHz 6 core i9 and 32G RAM. I'll let you know how it goes. It was $299. If it does the trick for awhile, I'm good for very little money. If I like it and want to upgrade down the road to an M1, that's cool too. I'll let you know how it goes when it arrives. Thanks again for the insight!
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-17-2022, 01:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,678
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

What model year? It likely has butterfly keyboard and if buying online make sure you can test/return, and test the keyboard works OK keys don't stick and work OK when pressed a bit off center, and the battery holds a decent charge. (A keyboard replace is likely to cost you more than you paid). I dislike all the butterfly keyboards so much I used a external mechanical keyboard with my MBP that had those.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-17-2022, 02:06 PM
sean shannon's Avatar
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 859
Default Re: Macbook Pro for Pro Tools Ultimate

Its this one: https://everymac.com/systems/apple/m...bar-specs.html
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumb question - Can I run PT Ultimate on a Macbook Pro? innerbooty Pro Tools 14 06-24-2022 07:21 AM
Video Playback Question - PT Ultimate 2022 on MacBook Pro M1 Pro/Max sheinke Post - Surround - Video 2 06-15-2022 05:35 AM
Pro Tools Ultimate / Pro Tools perpetual license renewal coming up soon... Justin1524 Pro Tools 1 06-21-2021 05:43 PM
Pro Tools Standard->Pro Tools Ultimate Cross-grade clarifications. Akiz Licensing & Accounts 8 08-30-2019 10:34 AM
Ultimate portable solution? macbook pro vs. air tonejunkee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 01-03-2011 12:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com