Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2011, 04:48 PM
Mike Borok Mike Borok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Default Automation How-To Question

Two quick questions, actually:

1. When automating volume, the track has many breakpoints. If I want to raise the overall volume after I've created the breakpoints, I'd like to be able to do something like raise the level of the first and last breakpoints and have all of the other breakpoints be raised by the same amount. Is there a way to do this? The closest I have been able to come is to insert a plugin and raise the gain via the plugin.

2. When consolidating a track that has volume automation, not only does the consolidation merge the waveforms of the regions but it also applies the volume automation. Is there a way to consolidate waveform but leave the automation (so I can change it later)?

Thanks.

Mike
__________________
003 Factory PT LE 7.4
Intel Core 2 CPU 6320 @ 1.86GHz
Gigabyte Technology G33M-S2H
2GB DDR2-SDRAM
XP Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2011, 07:44 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,818
Default Re: Automation How-To Question

1. Go past the last node on the volume line and then you should be able to move all the nodes in relation to each other.

2. Never had that happen before. When I consolidate regions, the volume automation doesn't get applied to the regions, it remains as was.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2011, 07:57 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,001
Default Re: Automation How-To Question

Same for me. Another way to adjust the entire track up or down; highlight the whole track(showing volume) and drag up/down. Or insert the TRIM plugin and adjust(or adjust the output of any plugin on the track).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2011, 06:32 PM
Mike Borok Mike Borok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Default Re: Automation How-To Question

I tried both methods of adjusting the full track's volume automation, but they didn't work; clicking anywhere with the hand tool just adds another breakpoint. What do I need to do? Which tool? Which mouse button? Thanks.
__________________
003 Factory PT LE 7.4
Intel Core 2 CPU 6320 @ 1.86GHz
Gigabyte Technology G33M-S2H
2GB DDR2-SDRAM
XP Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2011, 06:43 PM
anothercolour anothercolour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 244
Default Re: Automation How-To Question

Use the trimmer tool (F6).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2011, 06:47 PM
Mike Borok Mike Borok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Default Re: Automation How-To Question

Very nice! Is there a way to digitally define how much the track is raised/lowered, or just drag? e.g. I can't seem to raise by 1 dB, only 0.9 or 1.1 (not that I could probably hear the difference)
__________________
003 Factory PT LE 7.4
Intel Core 2 CPU 6320 @ 1.86GHz
Gigabyte Technology G33M-S2H
2GB DDR2-SDRAM
XP Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2011, 07:08 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,818
Default Re: Automation How-To Question

Hold down Control and move slowly and it will change by 0.1 dB at a time. You cannot define a value once nodes are placed on the volume line. With no nodes on the line, you can type in a value in the Fader.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2011, 08:32 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,001
Default Re: Automation How-To Question

If you do it with the Trim plugin, you can define an exact amount easier.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mix Automation Question samskimusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-09-2010 03:37 PM
Automation Question Numi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-13-2009 06:25 PM
General Venue Automation Question - (Maybe dumb question) TwoPort VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-21-2007 02:41 PM
A question re Automation Peter Groom Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-15-2006 11:42 AM
7.2 Automation question PMoshay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-05-2006 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com