Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2022, 03:26 PM
JoeMaster JoeMaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: North America
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools Stops Working when I try to record Audio

Hey Guys,

I recently bought an annual subscription to pro tools and when I open the program, click "Create from Template" and try to start with a template it says "Pro Tools Application Has Stopped Working" then reloads only to show me a blank Grey screen.

I get this exact same message the second I click the Red Record button on the track. Its important to know that the red record button at the top of the screen beside the play button does not stop the program from working, it is only the Red Record button on the actual audio track.

Besides these 2 things Pro tools seems to work completely fine. I want to uninstall and reinstall but want to be careful cause I know pro tools creates files all over the place when you install the program.

And while this isnt the worst issue since I can just avoid using templates and use the red button at the top instead of on the track, it is quite annoying on an OCD level.

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2022, 07:33 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,103
Default Re: Pro Tools Stops Working when I try to record Audio

Welcome to DUC

Lots more info would probably help. Your Profile say "Windows 10, annual subscription..." but what version of Pro Tools exactly and what is your version of Pro Tools officially compatible with your version of Windows 10 https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart (it might work outside of that, but best to be working with official compatibility).

Can you create a new empty session (not from template, and make sure its a session on disk not a cloud project)?

What interface are you trying to use? What exactly is the playback engine set to? You really should/need to be using an interface with native ASIO support, not ASIO4ALL.

Start by trying the standard troubleshooting steps under "Help Us Help You" up the top of each DUC web page.

And make sure your system is fully optimized, also described under that link.

Uninstalling and reinstalling the application rarely helps. Follow the sequence in the troubleshooting steps.

For trashing prefs probably a good idea to just purchase Trasher: http://www.pro-tools-pc.us/category-s/1514.htm -- always start by trying to trash prefs.

The Pro Tools logs *might* give a clue, they are plain text in C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Avid\Logs\

If still stuck come back here and describe exactly what you tried and what happened (take notes while you work through stuff).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Duet stops working randomly Blanet Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet 2 04-12-2018 12:04 PM
Pro Tools 12 installed but stops when I try to record fistofate Pro Tools 12 8 03-22-2016 09:00 AM
MIDI Thru stops working after sequence playback stops kelcarpenter MIDI 20 03-16-2016 11:43 AM
Help! Audio stops ands starts when record enabled? Thegenni 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-08-2006 12:54 PM
pro-tools m-powered 6.8 playback and record stops! aldaer Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-22-2006 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com