Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2002, 03:34 PM
pepasmax pepasmax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 3
Default big delay when starting recording on PT HD3

Hi friends !!! I'm so sorry to disturb you but if one of you can take a bit of time to answer to my little question .... it would allow me to win a lot of time !!

So, first, my configuration :
-G4 733 with 768 Mo ram
- digi Pro Tools HD 3 cards
-video card dual monitor DH Pro Max
-Atto scsi card UL3D(2 channels Scsi 3 ultra 160)
-2 HD 18go IBM Ultra 160 10k (Ultrastar)one per channel .

When I start recording, I ve got a delay between the moment I click record and when it really starts recording . Indeed this delay length is about 12seconds !!!!! its a really uncomfortable situation .... !!!

I've already checked the termination, cables, the disks were formated with Atto Express Protools .... following the digidesign compato page .

The really problem is that when I disconnect the scsi hard drives, and when I create a session on the internal Ide Ata 40 go drive, I ve almost no delay !!!!!!!

I do not understand and I think I m gonna fall mad in a few days if i dont shoot this pb ..
Ive bought very good scsi drive, very good atto card and I realise that my internal ata hd is more efficient !!!! it's a bit strange isn't it ?

Please help me there's surely something to optimise no?
thanks by advance
max
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2002, 05:40 PM
carlone carlone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 668
Default Re: big delay when starting recording on PT HD3

You could try going to preferences/operation then find OPEN ENDED RECORD ALLOCATION. Select limit to 10 minutes or something like that. THen PT won't try to allocate the remaining space on your drive.

Also you could try going to Playback Engine and making sure that the playback buffer is on 2 and not 8.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2002, 11:45 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: big delay when starting recording on PT HD3

Turn off the wait for note and/or the midi countoff.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2002, 04:18 AM
nozza1 nozza1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 190
Default Re: big delay when starting recording on PT HD3

The one time this happened to me was when I first installed two new 36GB Glyph Hot Swap UW Drives and went in the studio to track a band. The drives came formatted as HFS+ from the dealer. I had the same problem as I tried to record on 16 tracks simultaneously with Auto Punch activated. I didn't really see what the problem could be as I'd done this countless times before with my previous seagate drives. After a call to digi support UK it turned out to be the HFS+ formatting that was causing me the problem. It might be more efficient in terms of space but HFS+ appears to make it more demanding for Protools to record and playback audio. As soon as I re-initialized the drives as HFS standard the problem disappeared and I was back to my usual performance. Surprised this isn't mentioned more on the DUC as I can't believe there's only me that's experienced this problem.
Good luck and hope this may of been some help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2002, 12:36 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: big delay when starting recording on PT HD3

Actually, this problem has been brought up dozens of times on the DUC.

The "set record allocation" is related to HFS+. Unless you specify a record time, Pro Tools will allocate the whole drive for every recording pass. And since HFS+ has so many blocks, it takes much longer to allocate for recording. If you have quickpunch turned on and a track in record, Pro Tools will allocate for any possible recording, even if you only play back.

The other possible reason for a delayed start time is the wait for note turned on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2002, 09:41 AM
DaveCarlock DaveCarlock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: big delay when starting recording on PT HD3

In prepping for live recording with my HD3, I tested several drives repeatedly with a 62 minute allocation. Drives were formatted HFS+ with the ATTO EPT utility without "digital audio" optimization.

32 tracks consistently drop into record in 2-3 seconds. I did not use quick punch in my testing.

However, FWB formatted drives took a few seconds more to drop into record and had more than double the PCI usage.

DC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2002, 05:13 PM
nozza1 nozza1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 190
Default Re: big delay when starting recording on PT HD3

Thanks for explaining that for me uno. I'd not come across it on the DUC before, but your explanation explains the the reason behind the solution I found. Thankyou.

QUOTE]Originally posted by uno1234:
Actually, this problem has been brought up dozens of times on the DUC.

The "set record allocation" is related to HFS+. Unless you specify a record time, Pro Tools will allocate the whole drive for every recording pass. And since HFS+ has so many blocks, it takes much longer to allocate for recording. If you have quickpunch turned on and a track in record, Pro Tools will allocate for any possible recording, even if you only play back.

The other possible reason for a delayed start time is the wait for note turned on.
[/QUOTE]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metronome starting with delay goga macOS 2 05-01-2011 02:32 PM
Help-delay when starting record Jeff ONeil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-14-2010 02:24 PM
Delay between PT starting and BFD starting Baritonealone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-01-2008 04:58 PM
Long (LOOOOOOONG) delay when starting recording yonkiman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-26-2002 01:27 AM
delay starting recording on Pt HD3 pepasmax Storage Subsystems 1 07-28-2002 11:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com