Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-04-2003, 01:03 AM

Default Pro Tools Mixing

hello, this is my first post on the forums and i thought i would ask a question as i introduce myself.

well, i have been using the mbox for a couple of months now and i have about 18 to 20 songs recorded for an album that i am doing. my question is about mixing, now i understand about the aux and getting the "right leveling" but i mean, what about panning?

the music i recorded is electronic rock, so are there any peopel out there that can give me some pointers on panning and mixing for this type of music? i usually start a mix with the drums at 0db and then mix other instruments to that.

any pointers will be great, looking forward to hear from you guys.
Old 07-04-2003, 01:14 AM

Default Re: Pro Tools Mixing

I tend to see myself setting my drums (instrumental track) at about -4 db... This will allow me to hear the track at a reasonable manner so I can get the true sound and no over peeks where the music tends to get a little loud and hard to mix the vocals in.. When I keep the instrumental tracks lower its easier for me to get the perfect mix on the vocals... Then I'll take the Final mixdown into Wavelab and then I'll add all my mastering tool-kits to the mixdown...Then I'll normalize the the final master track at 0 db.... This seems to work very fine for me.... Thanks
Old 07-04-2003, 09:52 AM

thanks, i'll try that out.

anyone have any ideas about how to go about panning?? it can really make or break a mix,
Old 07-04-2003, 10:10 AM