Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 08-08-2022, 12:43 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,870
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
I was very enthusiastic about this, but it didn't work in this case.
... waste of time stuff about cookie settings...

Sigh. I did mention the cause and the correct work around, which is trying to modify/re-enter text and especially avoid anything that is or might be mistake for UNIX commands, and as Ben mentioned as well, things that look like web addresses (or html) may also be candidates that get filtered and cause the Access Denied error. I did warn that other folklore is incorrect and will not help and yet here we are again. Sadly even mentioning stuff that does not work, almost seems to encourage other folks to try it.

The reason stuff like this seems to work for some people some time is... they do *something* and then try again to post stuff, doing *nothing* and trying to post stuff would likely also work because something has changed. It can take the most subtle change to text to make the error not happen, sometimes just copying and pasting stuff can change the content enough. Maybe not even a change you can see on screen. But as for changing cookie settings, you might as well sacrifice a goat. Maybe there is some psychology here of when really frustrating things happen people are more prone to leap for solutions that really don't work. (People keep wanting to reinstalling Pro Tools as a first diagnostic step for Pro Tools problems... in reality a poor choice, but ah it feels good to try).

---

Thanks for getting examples of anything causing posting problems to Jeffro.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 08-09-2022, 07:54 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: PNW
Posts: 10,212
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Clearing cookies/etc. might seem to help, but Darryl is correct... it's the content that's triggering the error.

We've been getting changes made based on your examples, but there haven't been many of those submitted.

If you have text that triggers the error please send that as an attachment via support case sent through your Access the Support Center link in my.avid.com or Create A Case under Account Support at avid.com/learn-and-support/contact-audio-and-music-support

Thank you!
__________________
linkedin
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 08-11-2022, 12:07 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 1,161
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Audio and Video just drive the other pop-ups, so you can select Audio, then Pro Tools/etc. If you have a current product you could use your Access The Support Center link in my.avid.com to start a support case. Thanks either way for providing an example - there's been some improvement here but we obviously have more to do to eliminate this.
Thanks, Jeffro.
__________________
MSI Pro Z790 Edge | i913900k @ 5.7GHz | 64GB DDR5 5600| 8TB NVMe | 3TB SATA SSD |10TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.12| Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 08-16-2022, 09:00 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Not shure I've seen this before.
I go to General section of the forum, and click "New thread", result:

Quote:
Ben Jenssen, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:
  1. Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
  2. If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.
I tried to log out, log in, no change.
Otherwise things seem to work. Posting etc.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08-16-2022, 09:08 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: PNW
Posts: 10,212
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
...I go to General section of the forum, and click "New thread", result...
Sorry about that. Just tried a new thread as a test and that worked. If you can start a thread elsewhere I can move it for you. I'll check your account, but likely something related to the content/formatting - please submit that via case (my.avid.com > Access the Support Center > Equipment -or- Create A Case for Account Support.
__________________
linkedin
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 08-16-2022, 09:59 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Sorry about that. Just tried a new thread as a test and that worked. If you can start a thread elsewhere I can move it for you. I'll check your account, but likely something related to the content/formatting - please submit that via case (my.avid.com > Access the Support Center > Equipment -or- Create A Case for Account Support.
Thank you, Jeffro.
I posted this in the MacOS section, without problems. I meant to create it in 'General', but I guess it might as well stay in MacOS. What you think is best.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...99#post2644699
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 08-16-2022, 10:14 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

I went to create a support case, but come on! Six different 'support categories' audio or video, nothing that fits, adress, telephone(!) info etc required. You're making stuff difficult on purpose or what! forget it!
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 08-17-2022, 10:44 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: PNW
Posts: 10,212
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
...You're making stuff difficult on purpose or what! forget it!
Somewhat easier going through your account, but still a valid point. I added "Access Denied Error" as a Subject to the Contact Us form (linked at the bottom of this page). Didn't use this originally since it doesn't support attachments, but please put your text in the Message field and we'll follow up if we need more info. Thank you.
__________________
linkedin
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 08-17-2022, 11:07 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Somewhat easier going through your account, but still a valid point. I added "Access Denied Error" as a Subject to the Contact Us form (linked at the bottom of this page). Didn't use this originally since it doesn't support attachments, but please put your text in the Message field and we'll follow up if we need more info. Thank you.
Done. That was easy!

Thank you Jeffro.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Access denied" when saving a template ljackson Windows 2 12-23-2017 09:28 AM
Could not create a new document because Permission denied (13) while creating "test" n2one Pro Tools 12 0 05-29-2017 03:04 PM
"Could not complete your request because Access is denied" ColinSound Windows 2 05-13-2013 02:58 PM
Audiosuite "Access denied" trey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-07-2002 08:20 PM
"access denied" when using audio suite plugs lewis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 08-16-2001 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com