Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-04-2022, 02:47 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
...believe me and don't mind me when I say that your advice is NOT the solution for everyone.
...and you can say that because?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
I always prepare my posts in Apple's TextEdit (set to Plain Text) or BBEdit because I know that sometimes after trying to post a post, DUC will ask to log in again and then everything that was typed is lost
That's practical, but it's certainly not a solution to the problem.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-04-2022, 03:00 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,141
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Again; when I get this error:
I go back
Copy the text I wanted to post
Paste it into a simple text editor, I use Stickies
Select all and copy again
Paste that into the entry field in DUC and post.


Works for me.
There's an even easier way: before you post what you write copy the material like you mentioned except when you get back to the forum thread you wanted to post to open a window to post and just paste what you copied just before. Saves having to go to a text editor. Unless you have to restart your browser the material should still be in the clipboard of whatever browser you're using.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-04-2022, 03:41 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,870
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
There's an even easier way: before you post what you write copy the material like you mentioned except when you get back to the forum thread you wanted to post to open a window to post and just paste what you copied just before. Saves having to go to a text editor. Unless you have to restart your browser the material should still be in the clipboard of whatever browser you're using.
And that is what I do, except for very long posts with I might compose in an editor. The trap with cutting and pasting is you copy a long post to be safe, then use copy and paste to move some text around, and then the post fails... and that is a great reason on Macs to install [ADVERTISEMENT] Flycut clipboard manager https://apps.apple.com/us/app/flycut...42160987?mt=12[/ADVERTISEMENT]. Flycut makes it very easy to go back to any past cut/copy you made.

And browser back arrow will also work most of the time, but maybe not always.

I hear from Jeffro that this problem is still being worked on. I suspect NAAM might be a current distraction.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-05-2022, 12:43 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,410
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

I have done every suggestion mentioned and had every one of them fail as often as they work. Sometimes with something as simple as 2 lines of text with nothing but basic punctuation. Then at other times, I can write a long post with multiple paragraphs with numbered points and attached photos with no problem at all. Things that make you go "Hmmm"
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-05-2022, 02:47 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,870
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I have done every suggestion mentioned and had every one of them fail as often as they work. Sometimes with something as simple as 2 lines of text with nothing but basic punctuation. Then at other times, I can write a long post with multiple paragraphs with numbered points and attached photos with no problem at all. Things that make you go "Hmmm"
If you have a few lines of text that fail please PM me and I'll give you an email address to send to (as attachment so hopefully it does not get mangled by email).
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-05-2022, 04:25 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,410
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
If you have a few lines of text that fail please PM me and I'll give you an email address to send to (as attachment so hopefully it does not get mangled by email).
Thanks
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-15-2022, 11:30 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: PNW
Posts: 10,212
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

We're finally making some progress here. I have a few chunks of text that previously triggered the error, and after some internal changes I'm able to post them.

If you have any text that causes an error when posting or sending private messages please Create A Case under Account Support to provide that text to us.

Thank you!
__________________
linkedin
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-15-2022, 11:51 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,870
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Thanks Jeffro.

The PM message thing may help folks... you can play there sending yourself PMs without posting noise to the forum, the same mechanism and same error message will happen for a PM as it does for a forum post.

Clearly the problem is not fully fixed yet, I just sent Avid/Jeffro some more examples of failures. If you have examples of failure *please* send them in.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-17-2022, 07:11 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,087
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

You rock, jeffro!






##
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
We're finally making some progress here. I have a few chunks of text that previously triggered the error, and after some internal changes I'm able to post them.

If you have any text that causes an error when posting or sending private messages please Create A Case under Account Support to provide that text to us.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-15-2022, 02:19 PM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 623
Default What does this mean? Access Denied for reply

Access Denied
You don't have permission to access "http://duc.avid.com/newreply.php?" on this server.
Reference #18.5a30017.1657919800.9a8a92b

Why not? I could reply a couple days ago?

I cleared browser cache, signed out and back in.

Not sure.
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio voiceovers & testing software | 2nd gig: music software tutoring | hobby: electronic music //
||software: Sonoma 14.2 | PT Studio 2023.12 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB | OWC Thunderbolt Hub and Thunderbolt 3 Dock //
||devices: RME Babyface Pro FS | Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | Sennheiser HD 600 HP // Onkyo TX-8220 SR
||automation: SoundFlow | Stream Deck+ | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse | MacOS Shortcuts //
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Access denied" when saving a template ljackson Windows 2 12-23-2017 09:28 AM
Could not create a new document because Permission denied (13) while creating "test" n2one Pro Tools 12 0 05-29-2017 03:04 PM
"Could not complete your request because Access is denied" ColinSound Windows 2 05-13-2013 02:58 PM
Audiosuite "Access denied" trey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-07-2002 08:20 PM
"access denied" when using audio suite plugs lewis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 08-16-2001 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com