Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2012, 02:39 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too!

This was meant for the HD forum. Sorry...
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2014, 09:06 AM
theurbanslacker theurbanslacker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too!

Hello all

I do not post very often on these forums, although I have been lurking around this forum and the Tonymacx86 in the background now for the last few months. Ive been gradually working out what I think maybe the best build to suit my needs for a Protools HD2 rig using PCI cards and a UAD Quad core I know the motherboard has to have native PCI support and I would really like to do a session where this cheeky little spinning beach ball of death dose not appear to often at the moment I am recording on an old G5 with HD2 rig and an im mixing on single core PC with the UAD quad core PCI-e and pro tools LE - somewhat challenging way to mix and record but needs must.

I would like my new machine to be dual boot with windows 7 probably 32bit as I am aware that protools is 32 bit and would like to do all my mixing recording and editing in one machine. I don't have a problem with this. not sure what the advantages to 64 bit are?

After all my research I feel I am now ready to jump in and build my first hackingtosh. I have spent a great deal of time reading all the threads and info I can find on this subject and think I have come up with a suitable build.

I just thought I would put it up here first (I hope this is the right place) see if anyone has done something similar and weather it caused any problems. is mountain lion the last working OS with this motherboard. / running pro tools has any one got maverick running. using this list of components
any information or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Motherboard: Gigabyte Ultra Durable Motherboard LGA 1155 Z77-D3H

CPU: Intel 3rd Generation Core i7-3770K CPU (4 x 3.50GHz, Ivy Bridge, Socket 1155)

Power Supply: Corsair Builder Series CXM 750W Modular 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX/EPS PSU

Memory: Crucial BLS2CP8G3D1609DS1S00CEU Sport 16GB kit (8GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-12800 Memory Module

CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer Universal Water Cooling System Dual 12cm PWM Fan


System Drives: 2 x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5 inch Basic SATA Solid State Drive

Storage Drive: 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3.5-inch SATA III (6Gbps) Desktop hard drive (7200rpm, 64MB cache)

Case: Codegen 600mm 4U Rack Mount

All the links above are to the parts I am intending on using.

many thanks in advance

Scot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2016, 09:32 AM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: EU-USA-AU-Asia By Jobs : )
Posts: 154
Default Re: Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too!

good help !

but for work with large sessions better have 3 hd accel cards

this Motherboard: Gigabyte Ultra Durable Motherboard LGA 1155 Z77-D3H

only 2 pci slots

or i'm wrong?

z
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh - Salvage your HD PCI cards - You Can Do It Too! jeremyroberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 323 04-26-2024 12:36 PM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM
Get a laptop or salvage old machine?? Punx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-24-2008 01:28 PM
OT - Salvage a bad DAT - Possible? soundsurfr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-08-2003 12:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com