Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2011, 12:03 PM
georgeearth georgeearth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Echo Park , Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth , Milky Way
Posts: 35
Unhappy I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

Should I try a different keyboard? I've done everything else, downloaded most recent drivers, took the Midisport uno back to the store and replaced with another one....below is my original post (which NO ONE had any reply to): I have PT8LE on a Windows XPS2 PC with a Mboxmini which has not midi input, so I just got a M-Audio Midisport Uno USB cable/interface, and it does not seem to be able to get midi from my Yamaha PSR 730 (I did read somewher that the M audio midi/usb cables had issues with that synth)...
The synth DOES show up in the options/midi studio in pro tools, so it does seem like that much of the UNO cable is working...another issue was the install, which told me it was not right version for my Windows, then I found the updated driver on the MAudio site specific to my XPS2 and installed that, but it still says there is some issue with the install and that the device may not work properly (which, no, it does not)...my midi internal to PT8 does seem to work fine, I can draw midi with the pencil, and play it using Xpand2.
And of course all audio works fine, including audio from the PSR730 synth.
I did follow all of the guides for setting the I/O's etc.
I have not tried using another midi controler othyer than the PSR730.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:17 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

Try another USB Port, perhaps this will re-run the driver/communication. Is 'Local Off' on the Yamaha keyboard? When you open the Output Selector for a MIDI Track is the M-Audio MIDISport listed?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:42 PM
georgeearth georgeearth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Echo Park , Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth , Milky Way
Posts: 35
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

Hi Filo, thnx! I did try a different port, and tried with "local off" as well as "on",
and nowhere in pro tools does the midisport show up, though the psr730 does show in in options/midi/midi studio, but in midistudio it only has the name but no ins or outs. Wondering if I should try a different keyboard (which I don't have yet) or if it is an issue with the midisport.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:50 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

Windows>Device Manager>USB Controllers is the MIDISport Uno USB listed? Which driver version have you installed, 4.3.00?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2011, 01:56 PM
georgeearth georgeearth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Echo Park , Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth , Milky Way
Posts: 35
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

thnx Aaron/filo! Not at my rig right this sec so not sure about "Windows>Device Manager>USB Controllers is the MIDISport Uno USB listed" question, but yes, the MA CM101 V32 4.3.00.exe driver
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2011, 02:03 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

Uninstall all drivers relating to the MIDISport Uno USB device and remove the MIDISport Uno USB device from your computer and restart. Reinstall the MIDISport Uno USB driver 4.3.00 and once the driver installation has finished unless told otherwise then plug in the MIDISport Uno USB device. Will the MIDISport Uno USB device show up in the Device Manager USB Controllers list?
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2011, 02:25 PM
georgeearth georgeearth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Echo Park , Los Angeles, CA, USA, Earth , Milky Way
Posts: 35
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

Hmmm, I did uninstall several times, did that each time I tried to install the new driver (which I downloaded 2 different times just to be sure) though I never restarted the computer without the driver installed....I never checked the device manager list, is that in PT or on the computer?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2011, 02:37 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

Windows XP>Control Panel.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2011, 06:38 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,938
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

I would install XP Service pack 3 & then follow Filo's instructions.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z690 AERO D
CPU: Intel Alder Lake Core i9-12900K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15S
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (2x 32gb 5200MHz)
Drives: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro 2TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (Record & Samples)
1 x Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (OS Win 11 Pro)

GPU:Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3060 12GB GDDR6 PCIE 4
PSU: Corsair HX Series HX850 Platinim
CASE: Fractal Define XL R2
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif <> AxeFxIII
HD 96I/O
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2011, 08:34 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,408
Default Re: I give up! Can't make PT8LE record midi from Yamaha PSR730 using Midisport uno

My M-Audio UNO worked great on Windows XP. Won't work at all on Win7
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I wish AVID would just give up on HD Native and make this box -- propower General Discussion 9 03-26-2014 01:03 PM
Plug-ins make sound but won't record/write MIDI! scottheiner MIDI 1 09-16-2011 11:46 AM
PT8LE Locking Up Every Time I Hit Play To Record ducmike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-28-2010 07:01 AM
did I make a mistake buying a midisport? Tito Ricci Arballo MIDI 3 08-28-2007 05:12 PM
This Will Make PT 7.1 CS 4 Give U A Spinning Ball 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-15-2006 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com