Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2008, 07:17 AM
hitp hitp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 307
Default Digi TS, fighting fader problem

Newbie question here. Occasionally for some reason one or two faders would stick and fight. When you touch it, the switch does not make contact (value on LED does not change) and the fader fights you, snapping back to the original position. Sometimes I am able to bypass it in a crunch by assigning to the focus channel and do my rides from there. Other times it does not work and I have to power cycle the ICON and the problem goes away. Also when I nudge to a different fader the problem (sometimes) follows to that fader, so I suspect it is something in the software as well. I check my automation states and volume graphs to see if there are any pre-written automation, but this happens even when automation is bypassed. Even with automation armed for that channel, I cannot even write as the switch is not engaged and LED does not change value. This is a hassle and does not look good in front of clients. I wish it were as easy to say it is one bad fader, but it does not seem to be the case.

Probably a simple thing I have omitted. Many times I fake it by using the volume graphs so clients do not notice, but this is such a vibe killer for me. No just one fader but a bunch of different faders do it at various times. It also happens quite often, maybe once a day, usually with one bad fader at a time.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Dennis Cham
HIT PRODUCTIONS
music | sound design | post
www.hitproductions.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2008, 02:58 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Digi TS, fighting fader problem

Fader #3 suddenly started to fight back in touch mode. A simple re-cal of the faders fixed it, but I wonder how often I can expect to see this issue? I mean, I'd only worked about 6 hours on the console (in total) when this happened, and I don't like it. Any thoughts?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2008, 11:33 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Digi TS, fighting fader problem

Happened again today, same fader, but this time a re-cal didn't help. So, I just banked the faders, and kept on working, and suddenly I noticed that the problem had fixed itself. Are there any modes and/or particular workflows where the faders are supposed to fight back?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2008, 01:08 PM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Re: Digi TS, fighting fader problem

Guys,

Please contact Tech support directly using the support form. They'll be able to advise you from there.
www.digidesign.com/tsr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2008, 01:18 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Digi TS, fighting fader problem

Thanks, Brent.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fighting fader?!?!?!?! Say WHAT?!?!? midafari ICON & C|24 12 09-30-2012 02:29 PM
Track banking and nudge fader problem on Digi 003 tomedwardsuk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-14-2008 12:44 PM
Command 8 fader #4 fighting me!! elkpantscamino ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 08-16-2007 10:35 AM
Couple of pan pots stuck and master fader fighting PTGuy ICON & C|24 3 07-31-2006 02:12 PM
fader problem on digi 002 vicwind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-01-2003 09:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com