Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2024, 01:44 PM
lisonic lisonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 35
Default Should I upgrade? I need more than 6x BTD

Hi guys,
I was a long time Mac user (since the 90s), but moved to PC last year because I had a spare i9 that was "more recent" than my last Mac, the Mac Pro 2010

I also have a M1 MBP 1Tb SSD, but it is only limited to 1 external Monitor, I need at least 3 - currently running 4 Monitors on my PC - for Main screen, plugins, Meters, Video movie playback

I am doing some work that involves Bouncing out the stems of quite a lot of Episodes, and I find that my Offline Bounce to Disks are taking too long (I mean compared to when we first started, now offline bounce is a Godsend, but ....)

On my PC, the fastest I could bounce was about 5x. On the M1 MBP, it's only a slight improvement at 6x - running the same session, same number of tracks and plugins

Would a faster processor be of any help?
Can't afford the Mac Studios, but a M2Pro Mac Mini could be affordable, but I'm not sure how much speed would I gain?

Thinking of going back to Mac again - PC is great! shortcut keys wise, I managed to adapt, and its super quiet. invested quite a lot to modify the casing, installed silent fans, and FANCY LED LIGHTS!!

But ya, I need to be able to Bounce faster than 6x for my workload.

Current PC specs
i9-7900X 3.3Ghz, 10Core, 32Gb Ram, Pro Tools sessions on 2x 2Tb Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus, 512Gb Samsung SSD 860 Pro System Drive, Nvidia GTX 1080Ti GPU with 3x 27inch LED screens and a small 10inch screen for Meters

Running Pro Tools Studio, 2023.12

Looking at Mac Mini M2 Pro or a better spec'd PC - its not about Mac vs PC, but I just need the speed.

Any experiences to share please?
Thank you!
__________________
http://www.lisonic.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2024, 03:09 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,710
Default Re: Should I upgrade? I need more than 6x BTD

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisonic View Post
... Would a faster processor be of any help? ... i9-7900X ... - its not about Mac vs PC, but I just need the speed...
Intel 19-14900K is the fastest right now. According to this link, you'd get a substantial speed bump: https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compar...00K/3936vs4151
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2024.6 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2024.6 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2024, 03:37 PM
lisonic lisonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 35
Default Re: Should I upgrade? I need more than 6x BTD

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Intel 19-14900K is the fastest right now. According to this link, you'd get a substantial speed bump: https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compar...00K/3936vs4151
Thanks for the suggestion mate, I think my motherboard is kinda old, Gigabyte x299, don't think it can go up to the latest i9.

Just checked Gigabyte website, the last CPU it can support is the i9-10980XE made in 2019 - haha my PC is kinda ancient too

if I upgrade the CPU, might need new Rams and Motherboard too ..
__________________
http://www.lisonic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I bought mpowered 7.4 with free upgrade to ver 8. HOW DO I UPGRADE cmangeot Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 02-21-2020 04:18 PM
Missing 1 qualifying license(s) for upgrade to Annual Upgrade Plan for Pro Tools 12 bangmusicdk Licensing & Accounts 0 11-12-2016 10:27 AM
PT10 from PT9 upgrade with free PT11 upgrade curlydog Pro Tools 10 4 05-10-2013 08:32 AM
Pro Tools 10 Student Version- To upgrade, or not to upgrade? KFPCalvin Windows 4 04-12-2012 08:37 AM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com