Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2023, 04:27 PM
zbtb122 zbtb122 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Default clocking doesn't match sample rate

hey all,

i was sent a session that was clocked at a sample rate that doesn't match the session's sample rate, so the audio files are playing back slower than they should.

is there a quick fix within pro tools for this problem, or do i have to make a copy of the session at the clocked source's sample rate?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2023, 05:55 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

I've been there a couple of times, although it was years ago, but it's not very complicated. Basically you create a session with the sample rate it was clocked with, and import the audio files and deselect 'convert sample rate'. So even though they are 'stamped' 44.1, and you know they are effectively 48, they will play back correctly in the 48kHz session.

I don't know of any way to 'repair' the session. It might be possible, but this import trick is what I know.

If it's a session full of tracks with scattered clips, I guess you could consolidate all tracks from 0.000.00 in the session with the wrong speed, then do the import trick.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2023, 06:44 PM
zbtb122 zbtb122 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

thank you for your reply. I tried a "save copy in" approach to change the session's sample rate. however, once I select the appropriate sample rate, the "convert to specified format" box is automatically checked. i'd rather not re-import the audio files without saving the session, since the session is pretty in depth as it is-hence the save copy in strategy.

i appreciate the help! if you have any other pointers for this problem, please let me know
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2023, 06:50 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

'Save copy in' won't work.
'Import audio' with 'convert audio sample rate' deselected in the import dialog box, will.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2023, 07:16 PM
zbtb122 zbtb122 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2023, 04:36 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: clocking doesn't match sample rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by zbtb122 View Post
thank you!
What happened?
Did you try my suggestions?
Please share.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX and session sample rate and slaved clocking bluemoa Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 1 08-02-2022 11:58 AM
002 not clocking to correct sample rate for itunes and quicktime goaler111 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-08-2009 08:36 AM
Should Midi-Triggerred Samples match session sample rate? Zap Launcher MIDI 1 02-04-2008 08:06 AM
Please Help! Sample Rate/Clocking = Slow Motion... Amo Audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-13-2005 04:48 AM
HD and sample rate conversion at 96K doesn't work syntheticrhyme Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-01-2002 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com