Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2002, 02:26 PM
jinsel jinsel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: North Potomac, MD, USA
Posts: 67
Default signal generator for what use?

Who uses the signal generator that comes with PTLE effects and why? This is kind of a silly question but it seems so useless. And I really want to know what I'm missing out on.
Thanks...
-J
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2002, 02:34 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: signal generator for what use?

I use it to tune guitars and stuff.

Its also practical for calibrating my ins and outs to external reverbs and so on.

You can also use it to check a signals path through busses and aux’es, just put it on a track and see wich meters move.

Another thing: Sweep it from bottom to top to hear if your monitoring has a good response.

I guess theres more...
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2002, 03:01 PM
Nine Spine Nine Spine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 468
Default Re: signal generator for what use?

Create a blank audio track, put signal gen plug in first slot and gate w/ sidechain in second slot. Sidechain the original kick drum to trigger the gate. Set the tone of the signal generator to some low frquency (like 60hz) and adjust the gate time to suit. This will create either a supplimental tone to beef up wimpy kick drums or leave the hold on the gate open for a long time to create Hip Hop bass drum sounds. This second setting only works well if the kick drum pattern is fairly sparse.

Signal generating doesn't have to be for calibration anymore....

I do use it to tune a lot though... [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

And I calibrated my subwoofer with it too...

I have also used the white noise bursts in the same manner as I described above for some tripped out-distorto-drumloop-break...

I also occassionally check speakers with it...

Who would have known the Signal Gen could be so much fun
[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
I.B.S. Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Signal Generator gone?! nz Pro Tools 9 1 12-27-2010 07:39 AM
Signal Generator? Major Matt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-20-2007 11:53 AM
Use of a signal generator reverieman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 10-25-2006 06:59 AM
Bug in 7.2 Signal Generator Craig F Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-12-2006 03:17 PM
Signal Generator in 6.1 Clash310 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-29-2003 04:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com