Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2011, 01:16 PM
postprosound postprosound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 198
Default Rewire/ soundminer issue

Hello all... Having a sporadic issue here.

I have an aux set up as my soundminer monitor, using Rewire 4.0 as the source. (we are using SSL madi as I/O, so using optical is not a choice) Recently, the plug in will be active on a session, close it, and reopen it later, and it's not active. Not a big thing, of course, but when you have a feature mixing crew, director, and picture editor waiting, it can get a bit tense.

Unfortunately, this doesn't happen all the time. and there is not any rhyme or reason as to when it chooses to be not active, other than at the most inopportune time.

Has anyone seen this happen? More importantly, has anyone found any solutions? I've trashed pref's... all the usual jazz. I'm on osx 10.6.8 and PT 9.0.5. Any suggestions?
__________________
We, in post sound, are illusionists, not magicians.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:35 PM
admix's Avatar
admix admix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 99
Default Re: Rewire/ soundminer issue

I've seen this on occasion. My quick fix for it, is to quit SM, and simply re-select the Soundminer Rewire plugin on that aux. Don't delete it, just re-select it in place from the plugin list. Then restart SM. Should be fine.

Formerly when it happened I would do a full PT & SM reboot. That was just too long to wait.
__________________
Stephen Rosen
SonicUnion
19 Union Square West
New York, NY 10003
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:08 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Rewire/ soundminer issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by postprosound View Post
Hello all... Having a sporadic issue here.

I have an aux set up as my soundminer monitor, using Rewire 4.0 as the source. (we are using SSL madi as I/O, so using optical is not a choice) Recently, the plug in will be active on a session, close it, and reopen it later, and it's not active. Not a big thing, of course, but when you have a feature mixing crew, director, and picture editor waiting, it can get a bit tense.

Unfortunately, this doesn't happen all the time. and there is not any rhyme or reason as to when it chooses to be not active, other than at the most inopportune time.

Has anyone seen this happen? More importantly, has anyone found any solutions? I've trashed pref's... all the usual jazz. I'm on osx 10.6.8 and PT 9.0.5. Any suggestions?

Most likely problem though is when you close the session, the rewire link between PT and SM gets lost. That's why you'll see alot of places have physical connections from sound miner into PT.

Which you can either do as suggested above, or you might have to restart SM and reissue the plugin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HD10 crashes on launch. SoundMiner v4.3Pro ReWire Problem mgoorevich macOS 7 11-14-2011 01:35 AM
Soundminer Rewire Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-19-2008 07:18 AM
7.4 an Soundminer issue gugu Post - Surround - Video 18 11-19-2007 02:47 PM
Soundminer and rewire question... georgia Post - Surround - Video 9 11-04-2006 07:29 AM
PT7-Soundminer-Rewire-crash jimlongo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-23-2006 10:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com