Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2006, 07:26 AM
Songs in the Attic Songs in the Attic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Can I automatically mute a track when recording?

When recording, I use the "mix" knob on the Mbox to allow me to hear some backing track + live monitoring of what I'm recording. I'm sure most people do this.

However, to avoid hearing an echo (due to latency), I always mute the record-enabled track, and then I have to un-mute it when finished recording, then re-mute for the next take.

Is there a way of doing this automatically?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2006, 08:11 AM
JohnRover JohnRover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 21
Default DIGI- FEATURE REQUEST

I don't think you can. but it would be great if you could.
__________________
John Randall
studio / VoIP: 973 988 4424
john@audiosupergeek.com
http://www.audiosupergeek.com
Skype / Gizmo : johnrover
AIM: jbillyriv
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2006, 11:46 AM
atff atff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Can I automatically mute a track when recordin

I got sick and tired of the mute button thing too. I don't know if this will help but here is my work around. I'm sure many others are doing this as well.

1. Setup up one track that is always in Record Enabled mode and Muted - this will be used as your main recording track.

2. Create a few more tracks underneath that Record Enabled track, create more as you need them.

3. Once you capture the wav in the Record Enabled / Muted track, click-drag then hold your shift key down and move the recently recorded wav to an empty track.

4. Listen to your track - keep it or delete it.

5. Repeat the process as necessary.

No more mute button clicking.

Hope that helps.

atff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:12 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: Can I automatically mute a track when recordin

Instead of making additional tracks, you could just create a new playlist on the same track for each take. That's why there are playlists. Call it "take 2" or whatever.

If you mean muting when punching in, then use the auto input monitoring function that toggles the playback track with the live input when you do a punch in. This is only usable at lower latencies, or with low-latency monitoring enabled.

If you're like me and monitor externally (I think this also applies to those using direct monitoring), then you have to mute manually because your input is always audible. I'm so used to it after a few years, that I don't consider it a problem.
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Send mute/solo follows track mute/solo pre-fader Roger_Jam_Jet Windows 3 09-24-2017 01:59 PM
Automatically mute track while recording kabinboy Tips & Tricks 4 03-17-2014 02:21 PM
PT11 2nd track automatically recording 1st track's audio problem KungFuRooster Pro Tools 11 9 08-18-2013 10:44 PM
Can't Mute or Change Volume on Audio Track and Instrument track FunkTools 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-10-2010 04:40 AM
finding the peak of a track...automatically? outoftune 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-09-2007 11:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com