Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2020, 10:22 PM
BLG BLG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pleasanton
Posts: 81
Default Can't seem to open "cloud project" created with Pro Tools First with Pro Tools

I just bought the full version of Pro Tools after using First for a few months and I have three projects located "in the cloud". They show up in my list of projects but when I try to open one I get a box that says "Looking for new versions on cloud...". That just hangs (I've waited for for up to 10 minutes).



I've read about the preference to save locally and not the cloud, but I've been collaborating and needed the cloud.



I am able to open a different project though (although it's been downloading for close to 20 minutes and it's just half way through the 86 revisions). What's up with that? That never happened in First.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2020, 11:14 PM
BLG BLG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Pleasanton
Posts: 81
Default Re: Can't seem to open "cloud project" created with Pro Tools First with Pro Tools

I was eventually able to open the first project, but now there's another one that gives me a hard error. I get "There was a problem downloading "song name". I can still open it in First but not the full version of PT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2020, 06:39 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,507
Default Re: Can't seem to open "cloud project" created with Pro Tools First with Pro Tools

It's possible that something didn't sync correctly with that one project that will not open.

You can try opening it in First, making some small changes to the project, then saving it, which should force it to sync again.

With cloud sync, it is critical to make sure that projects have finished syncing before exiting PT or Windows for that matter.

You should always have the PT Task Manager window open (Window -> Task Manager) to make sure there are no running processes before closing PT.

As for the slow downloads, sometimes I think it's just Avid's servers being slow, but sometimes just logging out of your Avid account from within PT, then logging in again will for whatever reason speed things up.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2021, 08:43 PM
knowtice knowtice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Dillon, CO
Posts: 15
Default Re: Can't seem to open "cloud project" created with Pro Tools First with Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
It's possible that something didn't sync correctly with that one project that will not open.

You can try opening it in First, making some small changes to the project, then saving it, which should force it to sync again.

With cloud sync, it is critical to make sure that projects have finished syncing before exiting PT or Windows for that matter.

You should always have the PT Task Manager window open (Window -> Task Manager) to make sure there are no running processes before closing PT.

As for the slow downloads, sometimes I think it's just Avid's servers being slow, but sometimes just logging out of your Avid account from within PT, then logging in again will for whatever reason speed things up.
What would the fix be if it just doesn't get past the "Looking for new versions on cloud" pop up? I can't open anything I've saved on the cloud. Trash prefs?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloud Project Won't Open Due to Error "Could not create a new document because..." Joey_Sommers Pro Tools 2019 1 04-22-2020 08:49 AM
Project Versioning under the "CLOUD" rogerhavoc Pro Tools 2018 7 05-12-2016 01:24 PM
"Created with an older version of Pro Tools" j4callen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-13-2015 08:37 AM
Cannot open session in Mpowered7.3 (created in 7.3 but gives "older version" error) Krizaps Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 02-18-2011 12:31 AM
Can't open "session created on older version" - but it wasn't! BookSix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-04-2009 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com