Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #481  
Old 09-26-2014, 12:24 PM
neilvg neilvg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 46
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

10.8.5
Reply With Quote
  #482  
Old 09-27-2014, 11:37 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 508
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hey Neilvg.

I don't really get them on my system anymore. Don't know why. Program updates maybe.
So, I'm sort of a "happy camper"

But great post.

Boe
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #483  
Old 09-28-2014, 01:21 AM
neilvg neilvg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 46
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I mostly get -9093 AAE errors. Even upon initially opening a blank session and hitting play. Would be very interested in hearing anything you can think of that might have changed for you.

Also spoke to Slate beta test manager. Turns out VTM show/hide graphic uses the GPU but in order to do so, it makes a call to the CPU to handle the request which they know causes a large amount (but very short burst) of CPU usage.

However, if you use Activity monitor, and take a 'sample' of pro tools while it is running, you will also get an AAE immediately. My feeling is that at certain points, there is a conflict between disk calls and the Native card. On a PC I would investigate IRQ collisions, but with a MAC...
Reply With Quote
  #484  
Old 12-12-2014, 10:40 AM
mattpgtr mattpgtr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Hi, I moved from a rock solid HD2 accel setup to HDX last week and am having same errors, far too many 9171 and 9172 errors in pretty simple writing sessions. Did anybody find a workable solution for this? HDX card into Slot 3? (2010 Mac Pro 8 Core, 17Gb 10.8.5 and PT 10.3.9)
Old mix sessions that were fine of HD won't run for more than few seconds on HDX unless buffer is set to max.

I know I'm late to this, have read the thread but if anybody has found a solution I'd be grateful.

Mailed Avid support and nothing, tweeted Avid and nothing… Regretting the purchase at this time and PT11 not an option for all sessions.

Thanks

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #485  
Old 12-12-2014, 11:38 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,147
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

I see these on my HDN/Windows system as well. I am starting to think its tied to graphics as it seems to only happen if I am mousing around during a pass. So far, it has NEVER happened if I just let things run and not touch the mouse(worth checking into at least).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #486  
Old 12-12-2014, 12:28 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,574
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

And if you really have 17GB you SHOULD remove one GB as un even GB ram sticks causes all kind of issues.

Better to have 8 or 16 GB with the same sticks than an extra stick ram as that becomes a worse system than the lower amount of RAM

Chris
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #487  
Old 12-12-2014, 01:00 PM
psmworld's Avatar
psmworld psmworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: austria
Posts: 354
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

un-even gb of ram aren't an issue anymore, as long as all modules are the same speed and latencies.

the failures dont come of that.

most solid system so far with latest pt11 and osx 10.10, although its not officially approved i have very few 9172 failures. pt10 has way more issues with the card.
__________________
Selling:


Reply With Quote
  #488  
Old 12-12-2014, 01:31 PM
mattpgtr mattpgtr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Thanks for the advice re ram, I'll take out a stick, hadn't heard that before.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #489  
Old 01-13-2015, 09:03 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 172
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Ok, let's necro this thread.

I just upgraded my HD Accel3 PT HD 8.1.1.1 rig running on a Mac Pro (4,1) 2x quad core on OS X 10.6.8 with 8 gigs of memory, into a HDX PT HD 10.3.9/11.3.0 co-install. I also upgraded the memory to 24 gigs.

I first started this upgrading OS X to 10.8.5, and after some hurdles both PT 10 and 11 were running ok.

However, I soon noticed that in normal large-ish mixing sessions (60-100 tracks and a lot of plugins, a session that ran fine on my Accel rig, most plugins native on both rigs) with 35% CPU usage, if I did anything outside of PT, playback would stop with one of the CPU errors mentioned in this thread (-1972 error) with a CPU spike so going from 30-35% to 100%. An easy way to get the error would be to actually open the PT manual to the outside browser from within Pro Tools. Also easy to get with plain websurfing (Chrome) or email (thunderbird). This happened most frequently with 128 and 256 buffers, with one or several cores unaloccated for PT.

Switching to 512 buffer helps some but it isn't foolproof, and I could run HD Accel on 128 buffer easily (preferable to keep long ADC chains manageable among other things)

The weird thing is that this happened both on PT HD 10.3.9 AND PT HD 11.3.0

I then did a few things, I upgraded to 10.9.5, this helped some and opening the manual doesn't give the error in the same test session anymore. But 5 minutes of browsing will. And the weirdest thing was that PT HD 11.3.0 benefitted from the update slightly less, giving MORE of these errors than PT HD 10.3.9.

I then upgraded my CPU's from 2x quad 2,26 to 2x 6-core 2,93 - even with the massive CPU overhead from the upgraded system the errors still come. Ed: I also tried disabling hyperthreading via XCode. No tangible effect on the problem.

My next step will be to try OS X 10.10.1 running only PT HD 11.3.0 (once Slate's VCC get's 64 bit AAX support) but I am doubtful that this will be a fix.

I NEVER had this issue on my Accel rig. What gives?

Mikko

Last edited by Skwaidu; 01-13-2015 at 09:30 PM. Reason: Added info about disabling hyperthreading
Reply With Quote
  #490  
Old 01-13-2015, 04:11 PM
gearhead2010 gearhead2010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 238
Default Re: -9171 and -9172 errors with Pro Tools HD 10.3 on HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwaidu View Post

I NEVER had this issue on my Accel rig. What gives?

Mikko
Welcome to the future!

It certainly appears that AVID can't fix the issue or they're waiting to make us pay for it. I am completely dumbfounded by the lack of action on this issue.

Simple test on my HDX rig, had a virtual synth (doesn't matter which one) in a PT session @ 96k with a 256 buffer. 9172 errors pop up repeatedly. Open up the same VI in Logic Pro X running at 96k with a 256 buffer using HDX Core Audio Driver and viola! No errors!

I also did the same exact test on a Mac Book Pro with Pro Tools HD 11.3 and an Mbox Pro 3. Had the same exact results. Couldn't work in Pro Tools, but Logic using the Mbox Pro 3 ran beautifully.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46Ghz 12 Core, (5) 1 TB Evo 840, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 12.5.2, HDX1, (4) HD I/O 16x16, (1) Lynx HILO

Last edited by gearhead2010; 01-13-2015 at 08:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3 9171 and 9172 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-14-2013 03:11 PM
-9171 and -9172 errors constant...Sandra attached wrachilla Windows 12 05-09-2013 09:19 AM
UAD triggering 9171, 9172 errors? xq3js macOS 7 03-22-2013 11:47 PM
Dae errors -9171 after installing 10.3.3 TCM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 3 02-06-2013 10:18 AM
10.3.3 Major Fail....9171, 9172 and 9129 Errors Tops3b Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 12-21-2012 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com