Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2013, 12:55 AM
FactionsOfArt FactionsOfArt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Diamond Bar, CA
Posts: 10
Default Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

I'm trying to run the trial version of Pro Tools to confirm it works before buying a real license but I get this error:

ProTools.dll
Can't find attached protection component, OS error 0x0d.

(This pops up from a blank system icon with no description in my notification area.)

I do have the iLok 2 USB and it has the trial license activated on it. If the iLok is not plugged in, Pro Tools will wait for the iLok to plug in (error doesn't show) so it seems like it's associated with loading the core program. I've tried searching through google and this forum but no threads pop up pertaining to my specific error.

If I can get help getting this working it would be great, thanks for your time in advance.

Custom Build:
Intel Xeon E3 1230-V2
8GB G Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz
ASRock Z77 Extreme 3 Motherboard
Sapphire Radeon HD 7870

Storage:
Kingston 240GB SSD Now
WD Green Caviar 3TB

Tascam US-800
Focusrite Saffire PRO-40

Pro Tools 11 for WINDOWS.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2013, 01:44 AM
xy44 xy44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london UK
Posts: 153
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

did you try and run as admin mode?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2013, 08:15 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,416
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

If you DO get it running, it may not work so well. WD Green drives are awful for recording. WD Black are the best choice. Did you install Pro Tools to the C: drive?(you must).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2013, 09:41 AM
FactionsOfArt FactionsOfArt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Diamond Bar, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

Pro Tools is installed on the C:\ drive and I have tried running as an admin with no success.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2013, 10:14 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

Have you tried installing the iLok License manager from www.ilok.com.
You may want to try that first just to make sure your iLok is visible to the system and is working properly.

Once you can view your license successfully, then exit the license manager and try running PT again. If it fails, I would try reinstalling PT.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2013, 11:15 AM
FactionsOfArt FactionsOfArt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Diamond Bar, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

Yeah I've already tried license manager and it works. I've also tried reinstalling and repairing at least 4 times, twice each. Still nothing it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2013, 11:34 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,886
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

Uh unusual error, but I'd *guess* its related to iLok software or its communication with Pro Tools. And even if the license manager applciation appears to work, driver components of that still need to talk to Pro Tools itself.

Did you uninstall Pro Tools before tryign to reinstall it? uninstall the iLok manager before tryign to reinstall it? Uninstall both and download new versions from their web sites (Yes I know pro Tools is large). Follow exactly the install instructions for Pro Tools 11 (there is an installation guide, see http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-Documentation).

If nothing else works I would cut my losses and do a clean Windows 7 SP1 install. Install as few drivers as needed (e.g. graphics and audio interface), no antivirus software, then install the iLok manager and Pro Tools. If that works be sure to follow all the optimization instructions in the install guide.

And as pointed out thise Caviar Green drives are just toxic to Pro Tools. Definitly don't put audio/session files or VI samples on that drive. You need a dedicated 7,200 rpm or faster or SSD drive for audio/session files. WD Caviar Black or if you want more performance/a Samsung 840 Evo or Pro SSD are great choices for that dedicated audio/session drive.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2013, 12:19 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

What OS? or am I going blind
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2013, 12:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,886
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

Well his profile says Windows 7 x64... a confirmation would be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-2013, 05:33 PM
FactionsOfArt FactionsOfArt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Diamond Bar, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problems Running Pro Tools 11 (Win7 64-bit)

I am running Windows Seven Ultimate 64-bit.

@Darryl: The error truly seems to be in the Pro Tools start up sequence and not in the iLok or the License Manager program. Here's why I think this: If the iLok isn't inserted Pro Tools will wait for the drive, and once it is inserted it will start up only if the required licenses are activated in it. My biggest problem is that this machine is a new build with only the core drivers installed.

I understand that the WD Green Caviar is a bad drive for recording, but I feel that is irrelevant to the problem. (plus, pro tools is on my solid state drive)

EDIT: Now that I think about it do you think that "ProTools.dll Can't find attached protection component, OS error 0x0d" could come from the iLok since it is an anti-piracy device? If that is the case, I understand the error a little better but my drive and licensing seem to be flawless. (SEEM to be...)

Last edited by FactionsOfArt; 12-05-2013 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Afterthoughts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Im running PT8 on WIN7(running off of VMWARE) Conolly10 Windows 2 12-11-2010 06:38 PM
Update 8.03 causes problems running win7 fridrikur Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 42 10-19-2010 01:16 PM
pro tools LE 8.0.3 problems with win7 kevin masl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-25-2010 04:36 PM
pro tools LE 8.0.3 problems with win7 kevin masl Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-25-2010 12:29 PM
Two problems running while pro tools... Help : ( rockonswitch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-15-2008 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com