Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2015, 01:26 PM
dogsareloud dogsareloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sandia Park, New Mexico
Posts: 4
Default Error 6117 Fix Please

I've done all the fixes I see here and still no joy ?

Loaded asio4 all

Holding down N key...

I have a Dell running 8.1 - with only a Realtec audio device...
All I want to do is see the Pro Tools Program and start to see
the screens etc...and seems to be in an endless loop...

I downloaded the new version of PTFirst just now...12.2 I think...rebooted..
and getting no where...

Again, I just want to see the program - I don't have an interface yet...

Jezz Louise...I was really hoping this was going to work...

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2015, 07:07 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Error 6117 Fix Please

Hello dogsareloud,

Is your ASIO4ALL installed correctly can you check if it appears to the Programs and Feature in the control panel? Are you also log into Administrator.


Good luck,
RC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2015, 06:33 AM
dogsareloud dogsareloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sandia Park, New Mexico
Posts: 4
Default Re: Error 6117 Fix Please

Yes and Yes....Just checked...why is this so hard ? I see no one posting this complaint getting a solution...so I"m not alone here...THANK YOU for helping...please send more recommendations...Tom : ) I'm about to bag the entire idea of using ProTools First based on this experience...it's a time sucker at this point...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2015, 06:45 AM
dogsareloud dogsareloud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sandia Park, New Mexico
Posts: 4
Default Re: Error 6117 Fix Please

this is very strange...i have changed nothing and it seems to be working today ? What the heck ??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2015, 09:33 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Error 6117 Fix Please

Quote:
this is very strange...i have changed nothing and it seems to be working today ? What the heck ??
Indeed it's weird, I wish I had better explanation.



Regards,
RC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2016, 05:48 PM
TheCaveMan's Avatar
TheCaveMan TheCaveMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: The Poconos
Posts: 5
Default Re: Error 6117 Fix Please

I too have the exact symptom as described on my very 1st launching of PT First. I don't appear to have any control over my audio devices & this will never initialize. I'm forced to Quit every time. Spent too many hours already just to get the program open which is when & where I'd normally select any devices in my initial settings/profile etc.....

My difference from the miracle cure above is; mine didn't happen & I'm left w/ a useless install.

I met all of the requirements, however I too am using a small 120Gb SSD as my "Startup Disc" for my OS w/ my applications & studio on separate drives. Still I have enough room to open PT First. It appears as if it's simply not recognizing any of my audio devices which all drivers are up to date & working fine in my other programs. Worse is I cannot make any device changes in PT as it asks & I'm forced to Quit....

Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by TheCaveMan; 02-02-2016 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Sp/ OS included
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2016, 10:54 PM
Golden Bey Golden Bey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Error 6117 Fix Please

The same thing for me. I factory reset my Laptop from windows 10 back to windows 8 and have done everything everyone suggests to do. Yes everything is properly installed and computer reset, ASIO4ALL.. everything's here but we still get the Error 6117.. what's up Avid, can you help us?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2016, 04:28 AM
TheCaveMan's Avatar
TheCaveMan TheCaveMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: The Poconos
Posts: 5
Default Re: Error 6117 Fix Please

Ya know, in my case I wanted to begin to learn how to navigate thru PT while I gather the funds to purchase Pro Tools 12 in a month. Well, I was going to d/ld the Free Trial of 11, but I'm waiting on the iLok to arrive so I can't go that route. In the meantime, I've done nothing but troubleshoot w/ PT First.

Apparently Avid doesn't monitor their own Community nor really care about the free software. I surely hope this isn't the case when it comes to the full version. Is this where the $99/yr support comes in?

I can't even OPEN PT First!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools First error -6117 Olafthebard Pro Tools | First Discussion 26 05-07-2017 12:08 PM
PT First AAE Error 6117 epicsaxman13 Pro Tools | First Discussion 10 06-18-2016 05:28 PM
Pro Tools First Error -6117 MinusE Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 08-31-2015 01:36 PM
Audio Error 6117 PT First laurabeele Pro Tools | First Discussion 3 08-13-2015 11:34 AM
Unable to reacquire hardware and DAE error 6117. Please help TheSmackPanda Pro Tools 10 2 06-16-2015 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com