Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2022, 12:52 AM
cmhawke cmhawke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 67
Default Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

This is a development of the bug I reported a few months ago, when I attempted to update the apps and it just continuously showed the loading icon without updating. Now, it immediately shows errors, as shown attached. I updated the support ticket with this information. In the meantime, please advise of the best way to update the apps before the bugs are fixed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot (116).jpg (34.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2022, 01:40 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,904
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

As I am sure you've been told before, uninstall Link and do this manually and you won't have any of these problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2022, 04:50 AM
LoudBassTone's Avatar
LoudBassTone LoudBassTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 54
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

Hmmm, I have always installed updates manually since PT7, I am running 2022.9 and there have never been any hanging installs for me. Mac Pro OSX 12.5.1
Luckily I guess.
__________________
PT 2022.12 studio, Cubase 12 Pro, 12 Core Mac Pro 6,1 96GB OS X 12.6.6, Mac Mini i7 QC 16GB, Digico Soundgrid DLI, Revive Audio 96IO & 192 DBox & 2BussLT for summing, Waves, SoundToys and a pile of other plugins. NI Maschine/Komplete Ultimate 12 and many many, too many Kontakt Libraries.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmT..._as=subscriber
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2022, 05:31 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,436
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

Or, as the old saying goes, “Doctor, it hurts when I do this.”
“Don’t do that.”
(Avid link is best forgotten.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2022, 06:26 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 549
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

Like everyone else says…

Link - NO
Manual - YES
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bassist, vocal, composer, engineer

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCw...ogfR_7Q/videos

------------------------------------------------------
PT2024.6, OS X Monterey, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 64 GB RAM, Orion Studio, Slate Raven MTi2, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2022, 07:49 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,002
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

Isn't this a bit like iPhone updates. You only hear the stories of the failures, while everything works well for the majority?

I don't allow Avid Link to run in the background, but open it when checking for updates. Although I'm not going to 2022.9 yet, all other updates have been fine.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 14.4.1
PT 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2022, 01:53 PM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 623
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

I run AVID Link.

I have no CPU issues.

I have no errors.

EVERY SINGLE SOFTWARE I use for work will crash now and again.

Intermittently the same function and same button in RANDOM software will work. Later it crashes? Why does it crash? Why do I need a workaround for those moments?

I think AVID Link is fine, AND it's getting better. It's still relatively new. OS and hardware fragmentation is real. It's tough to make things work perfectly AND move forward. It simply is.

If the instructions say Install Link First, why not try it? Sure, go without it if you like. As someone said, maybe you'll need to install Link before it works. As someone else said, maybe you never needed Link to be installed.

Oh well, lol.
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio voiceovers & testing software | 2nd gig: music software tutoring | hobby: electronic music //
||software: Sonoma 14.2 | PT Studio 2023.12 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB | OWC Thunderbolt Hub and Thunderbolt 3 Dock //
||devices: RME Babyface Pro FS | Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | Sennheiser HD 600 HP // Onkyo TX-8220 SR
||automation: SoundFlow | Stream Deck+ | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse | MacOS Shortcuts //
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2022, 12:15 PM
cmhawke cmhawke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 67
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

As a workaround, I manually installed Avid Link and Pro Tools. Unfortunately even after manually updating Avid Link to 2022.9, attempting to update Pro Tools to 2022.9 via Avid Link didn't work, so I also had to manually update Pro Tools. Added this info to support ticket. Avid Link was glitchy before but is now unusable for intended purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-2022, 01:52 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,002
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

There has to be a reason it works trouble free for some people and causes a mess elsewhere. What is your system?
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 14.4.1
PT 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-12-2022, 05:16 PM
cmhawke cmhawke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 67
Default Re: Avid Link Download Errors for Avid Link 2022.9 and Pro Tools 2022.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by thin ice View Post
There has to be a reason it works trouble free for some people and causes a mess elsewhere. What is your system?
2 different devices, both Windows 11. But the glitches also happen on Mac.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Link says PT 2022.9 is on the way huzzam Pro Tools 77 09-29-2022 06:42 PM
Avid link Download error. Sebastian.va Windows 1 07-23-2022 07:32 AM
Pro Tools 2022.6 with Avid Control 2022.4 stargazer Pro Tools 2 07-01-2022 07:32 AM
Where is my download link 2022.4? DavidHeylen Licensing & Accounts 1 04-26-2022 04:01 PM
Avid Link Download Z-Chord Pro Tools 2018 5 03-13-2019 08:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com