Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2021, 02:19 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

I'm trying to setup some sessions where talent is remote. We'll use Source Connect to get audio in/out, but my real issue is in looking for some Pro Tools functionality.

Talent must get a mix-minus, which isn't a problem to do, but there are times when we'll roll back and punch-in and, obviously, talent needs to hear his read prior to punch and NOT once I punch due to a delay over Source Connect. Is there anyway to have the channel MUTE upon punching in?

I know you can have separate record/play faders on the channel, but pulling it down to infinity changes any playback of the track before punch... you are STILL record enabled and the record fader adjusts playback gain in this instance.

I have tried routing the VO track to an aux that feeds a buss along with the mix-minus out to Source Connect, and that can work as long as I mute the aux as soon as I punch in... it just takes both hands.

Any other ideas would be great, thanks!!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2021, 03:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,555
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

Option 1; highlight the audio where you will re-record and kill that audio(separate and Ctrl-M to mute the clip). That way, the old audio will not play, despite still being available.

Option 2; duplicate the Playlist and delete the area that is to be replaced.

Option 3; enable automation during record to handle the mute function(or a quick volume drop).

I bet others have some good options too
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2021, 03:38 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

Any chance muteomatic would solve your issue?
https://www.soundradix.com/products/muteomatic/

You can set it to mute a channel when it goes into record
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.3.1, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:31 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

BScout, I'll look at Mute-o-Matic... otherwise what I did was use another aux buss from the recorded track to add to the mix-minus feed going to Source Connect. When I punch-in, I mute the aux feeding the track to the talent but I can still monitor. It takes both hands but it's doable.

If Mute-o-Matic will do that automatically for me, that'd be great.


Thanks to both of you for the replies!

________________________________

Just got Mute-o-Matic and it won't work in RECORD mode, only PLAY/STOP. Nice idea, but I think I'lll just have to use my two-handed approach.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.

Last edited by Eric Seaberg; 03-26-2021 at 07:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2021, 08:21 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,924
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

I suspect Mute-o-matic will do what you need, but really, I've had much better luck just taking over the remote machine via Anydesk and doing all the punching, etc on the remote end. In my experience it's been much simpler and faster than fooling around with SC.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2021, 11:58 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,823
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

I would do that with just 2 separate audio tracks routed appropriately, one for playback one for record.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2021, 01:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,555
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

Mute-o-matic is not going to be the solution. Its function is tied to play vs stop, so entering record won't affect it.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2021, 01:08 PM
Nick Camaron Nick Camaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Alpha Centauri, MW
Posts: 153
Default Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

I’m thinking of ADR Master by Non-Lethal Applications. It might certainly be overkill in every aspect, but it is probably capable of what you are asking for.
Alternatively you could try to build a clever macro with keyboard maestro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-2021, 09:32 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

A trick I used to use (back in the LE days, when input monitoring / muting was more of a headache) was to put a heavy handed compressor in the first insert slot on the track, and set the side chain to trigger from the hardware input that the mic was on.

When the talent addresses the mic, the track gets ducked to the point of muting (I would put this on the track being recorded, to prevent a latent signal being heard, when direct monitoring), adjust the release to taste.

I simp!y treated the plug-in as if it were an input muting switch on the channel. That is to say, I simply hit bypass for normal behaviour, or leave the plug-in active for muting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2021, 08:08 PM
Jimmix Jimmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: _
Posts: 73
Default Re: Is there a way to MUTE a channel when punching in?

Seems latency and mute issues are handled-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bwPp5SMlzU&t=5s
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mute channel/track with remote midi device PPPTTT Getting Started 1 01-05-2018 02:21 PM
PT Native does not mute track when punching in so I hear the latency delay too...? kick56 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 21 05-23-2012 10:20 AM
Channel Mute Issue lmiller VENUE Live Sound Systems 19 03-21-2011 06:07 PM
Muting channel when punching in? RKrizman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 08-09-2010 01:11 PM
D-Control channel mute/solo order JonesH ICON & C|24 2 04-30-2009 06:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com