Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2020, 01:57 PM
cmp cmp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Christchurch UK
Posts: 1
Default HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

Does anybody know if it is possible to fit an HD Native pcie card into the new Thunderbolt 3 Chassis. All of the blurb on the website etc, suggests that you need an HDX card, but I cant imagine why an HD Native card would not work, given that it is just a pcie card. Am I right to assume that the likely reason Avid dont refer to it, is just that they dont support the card any more. Or is there something I am missing.Cheers,


CP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2020, 07:38 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,363
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

The HDN PCIe card was not explicitly tested in the HDX TB3 chassis, but based on feedback from customers it appears to be working fine.


best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2020, 07:51 AM
pl007 pl007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lodz, Poland
Posts: 25
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

Jeff do you have any feedback about Sonnet Echo Express TB3 edition and HD Native PCIe? I want to use TB3 connection without adapter TB3->TB2.
__________________
PT Ultimate HDX system
PT Ultimate HD Native system

Last edited by pl007; 09-02-2020 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2020, 07:56 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,363
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

Here’s the grid of explicitly what we have tested and what combinations are recommended:

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-Compatibility


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2020, 08:12 AM
pl007 pl007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lodz, Poland
Posts: 25
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

Could you explain why Sonnet Echo Express III-D TB3 edition required downgrade to TB2 card and Apple TB3->TB2 adapter with iMac 19.x?
While Sonnet Echo Express III-D HDX edition can work with iMac 19.x via TB3.
__________________
PT Ultimate HDX system
PT Ultimate HD Native system
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2021, 06:35 AM
chaosaudio chaosaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 15
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

Exactly, does anyone know what the difference is between the original Sonnet TB3 Interface Card and the Avid TB3 Interface Card?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2021, 08:05 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 897
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

From what I gathered from a quick discussion with Sonnet Tech support, the HDX issue is related to the combination of the specific TB3 bridging chip and the TB3 interface card used in the TB3 version of the Echo Express III.

A TB3 Echo Express III with a downgraded TB2 interface card works fine.
A TB2 Echo Express III upgraded to a TB3 interface card works fine.

I have never looked at one closely, but I suspect the Avid TB3 enclosure is probably pretty similar in design to the latter, running an older bridging chip with the new interface card.

I noticed Sonnet recently discontinued the Echo Express III and replaced it with the 'Echo III', perhaps because of these issues. The new Echo III includes a specific "HDX Mode" that appears to limit the enclosure to PCIe 2.0 performance.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2021, 02:58 AM
pl007 pl007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lodz, Poland
Posts: 25
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

Sonnet Echo Express III-D/R Thunderbolt 2 chassis uses PCIe 2.0 backplane, whereas Thunderbolt 3 uses PCIe 3.0 backplane.

The HDX version uses the PCIe 2.0 backplane with a Thunderbolt 3 upgrade card.
__________________
PT Ultimate HDX system
PT Ultimate HD Native system
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:04 PM
hugoleitao hugoleitao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 59
Default Re: HDX Thunderbolt 3 Chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmp View Post
Does anybody know if it is possible to fit an HD Native pcie card into the new Thunderbolt 3 Chassis. All of the blurb on the website etc, suggests that you need an HDX card, but I cant imagine why an HD Native card would not work, given that it is just a pcie card. Am I right to assume that the likely reason Avid dont refer to it, is just that they dont support the card any more. Or is there something I am missing.Cheers,


CP
I also would like to see this answered please..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a thunderbolt chassis jeremyseanbell Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 16 02-10-2016 04:34 AM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
Thunderbolt Chassis to PCIx Chassis for TDM Laptop Rig Logichead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-09-2013 01:42 PM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 07:01 AM
Another way to do chassis's....thunderbolt! bashville Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 05-02-2011 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com