Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2008, 06:06 AM
French links French links is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: France
Posts: 153
Default SSL 4000...by Waves

I want to know if someone already works with it!
Reading the reviews and some Digidesign videos, it sounds great.I'd like to have the opinions of people that knows the hardware and can compare it to the plugin.
Do you think a 16 Tracks under PT session (7.4 LE) can support SSL Channel Strip on each track with a P4 with 2GB RAM?
Where would you insert the SSL Compressor ? On the instrument bus sidechained to the main vocal? Or on the Master Track as a general compression? (Slightly then cause thereafter Mastering could lose some efficiency)?
All advices and opinions are welcomed !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2008, 03:00 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: SSL 4000...by Waves

i like the ssl bundle a LOT. the buss compressor is very nice. the eq is great, use it all the time on everything. the channel strip is about the most usable strip i have used, well that and i demo'd the urs strip pro...this might be the next step up from the ssl. but the only thing i wish it had was just the compressor they use in the i/o by itself. but very nice and very usable, the only lacking element is a standard compressor, unless you use the strip, but the buss compressor is sweet!! seems very reasonable on the cpu. hard to say about your spec's. its been a long time since i have tracked on a p4, had a quad opteron for over a year and a half, a p4m before that, they are quite a bit faster than a p4, then had a p4 3.2ghz. so been about 2 1/2 years or so since i have tracked with one. the one i used is now my office computer.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2008, 01:32 PM
NickH NickH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Henley-On-Thames, UK
Posts: 600
Default Re: SSL 4000...by Waves

The waves SSL channel strip is probably my most used plug-in now… and the bus compressor is used a fair old bit on every session…

Once of those bundles I really wouldn’t want to mix a session without now…

Can’t help you on the performance thing, haven’t had a P4 whist I have had this bundle

Cheers



N
__________________
“It’s because you touch yourself at night... ”
System Specs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2008, 03:00 PM
drewpnutz drewpnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: SSL 4000...by Waves *DELETED*

Post deleted by drewpnutz
__________________
Check out the Website @ www.tallcatproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2008, 04:55 PM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: SSL 4000...by Waves

The Native SSL Channel has 0 samples of latency (3 for TDM), the Native Master Buss Comp has 1 sample of latency (4 for TDM).
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2008, 08:20 AM
legacygone legacygone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: SSL 4000...by Waves

I love the SSL bundle. i used in on a p4 2.3 with 2 GB ram until about 6 months ago.
It really depends on what other plugins you are running and a few other factors. I also never tracked with the Channel strip on, I used it during mixing. But in my experience I was able to use 8 - 10 strips at a time. Some of those also had the SSL EQ plugin. Though I know you could run a lot more if you are not using other plugins, but thats not realistic.

Overall considering how good they sound, they are are not CPU hogs at all.

D
__________________
Imac 27' i5 10.6.5
4GB RAM
PT9 w/003
Apogee Duet
AWC Mercury
HS80Ms
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2008, 02:31 AM
French links French links is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: France
Posts: 153
Default Re: SSL 4000...by Waves

hey yo guys !
Thank you very much for sharing your xp with me.
I'm pretty amazed by the plugin delay.It sounds really warm.There's quite good presets onto the Waves website.
That's good when you turn your knobs and notice it's very sensitive (real gain and dip).Now I got to get used to the different chain configuration.You can even make an upward compression with it without duplicating the channel.
I'm really happy with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves SSL 4000 opinions? bruce lang Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-28-2011 10:06 PM
Waves SSL 4000 Bundle Becharax Virtual Instruments 8 03-16-2011 07:50 AM
Waves SSL 4000 TDM EvilElfBoy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-16-2009 10:55 PM
Waves SSL 4000 Plugins dekype Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-22-2006 03:09 PM
Waves SSL 4000 Collection bassmon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-20-2006 09:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com