Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2001, 03:57 PM
moog moog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Iceland
Posts: 21
Default Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

I´m planing on buying a digi001 system this week but I need to know which is the best way to record more than 8 tracks (10 using SD/PIF) at once. I´m thinking of getting a converter with 8 analog ins and outs through the adat lightpipe. Is it the best way? I´m not thinking of digital mixer since I own a good mackie 24-8 that i´m going to use.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2001, 07:24 AM
staylor staylor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 204
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

I would take a look at the Alesis AI-3 ADAT Interface with a lightpipe connection. With this you can record 8 + 8(lightpipe)+ 2(s/pdif) for 18 total. This is the maximum you can get out of the digi.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2001, 03:39 PM
moog moog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Iceland
Posts: 21
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

Staylor,does the Alesis AI-3 have D/A outs and does it have a 24/96 digital conversion? I´ve also checked out fostex VC-8 which is cheaper ($279 at musiciansfriend.com)compared to the alesis ($399) but it is only 20 bit and 48khz. I really need an 24/96 A/D-D/A converter with analog ins and outs. Thanks for the info Sarah but it´s a bit pricy for me at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2001, 04:09 PM
staylor staylor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 204
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

Moog, The AI-3 has eight analog inputs and eight analog outputs, with 24-bit digital converters (A/D/A connectivity) with an ADAT Optical digital interface (in and out).

If you want better specs check the Alesis website: http://www.alesis.com/products/ai3/index.html

misterfunnyshoes.com is right about the Presonus Digimax, very nice piece of equipment to own, but it's too much money for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2001, 07:10 PM
crs117 crs117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: deland, fl (outside of orlando)
Posts: 1,537
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

i got a vc8 this past spring for like $150. They had been wasting away at a mars music store for like 2 years and they where just trying to get rid of them. i would highly suggest shopping around some more.

I dont really know why you would need more then 20/48 since the 001 only supports up to 24/48. i know its not 24 bit but since you still have to mix down to 16 bit the difference will be hardly noticable. The only thing is the whole thing is RCA, and i dont know what the other adat interfaces offer but i had to buy a special snake for it, but since the price was well under the $300 dollar mark i expected to pay it was well worth the investment.

Christian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2001, 01:56 AM
misterfunnyshoes.com misterfunnyshoes.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 21
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

the presonus digimax is another really good option. it has 8 sweet mic preamps with a limiter, eq enhance, and pad on each of them. it has a lightpipe output on it so you can plug it in to the digi 001 pci card and get the 8 additional tracks your looking for. i found it on sale for $1179 at macmidimusic.com zzounds.com has the best regular price on it at around $1200. hope this helped.

sarah
mister funny shoes
www.misterfunnyshoes.com
info@misterfunnyshoes.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2001, 09:39 AM
moog moog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Iceland
Posts: 21
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

Thanks for the info guys, im probably gonna go with the Alesis AI-3 or the fostex VC-8, depending how thick the wallet is gonna be [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2001, 01:24 AM
daveq daveq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 114
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

Just got a vc8 and it sounds great. (Well I would have liked an ai3 but none available here in Oz for next few months .An RME ADI 8 pro would have been nice also but my budget dont stretch that far) Yes the VC8 is only 20 bit/48 but the ability to record my band all at once using 10 tracks for drums seems to make up for any sound quality lost in conversion etc. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

[ August 04, 2001: Message edited by: daveq ]
__________________
daveq
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-04-2001, 04:50 AM
KaiXXX KaiXXX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 273
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

I use the Fostex VC-8 with the Digi001 (bought it cheap on eBay) and it does a really good job!
I think for just recording a few toms or a guide guitar (additional to the 8 tracks you use the digi001 converters for) it 's definitely enough.
Having balanced TRS IOs is definitely a plus for the Alesis AI3, but always keep in mind that 24bit is not the same as 24bit , because cheap converters cannot really resolute up to 24bit .
If you want real 24bit resolution you need a Apogee converter (or prism etc.)! But the quality of the converter is always more important than the number of the bits. I'd rather go with a apogee 20 Bit Converter than with a cheap 24 Bit Converter.

Hope this was a little helpful ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-07-2001, 03:15 PM
kalle74 kalle74 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 259
Default Re: Recording more than 8 tracks at once?

I think I should point out...

My friend uses a Fostex VC-8 with 001 ( Mac, but anyway ), and whenever he leaves the VC-8 connected after recording, all kinds of problems come up. The session plays at wrong tempo, all kinds of error messages etc. and he needs to bounce some things twice to combat the tempo problem. I suppose it´s because the VC-8 is 20-bit and 001 is either 16-bit or 24-bit. Also, VC-8 uses RCA connectors, which must be one of the worst innovations ever in the history of sound technology ( not strong enough, lousy connections etc. ).

I think you would be better off with an Alesis AI-3, or a RME, which both do 16/44.1 and 24/48 and have balanced TRS connectors. Or if you´re rich, the Digimax.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording with instrument tracks and audio tracks Shan B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-01-2011 03:22 PM
Recording 18 Tracks at once with 002? Snarf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-15-2005 08:52 PM
Pop at the end of recording tracks dsjjr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-23-2005 10:32 AM
RECORDING 64 TRACKS MORE THAN 90 MIN. RCP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 11-07-2003 06:38 AM
Recording automation AT THE SAME TIME as recording tracks mikeb37 Tips & Tricks 3 03-13-2000 10:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com