Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2000, 08:45 AM
mikeb37 mikeb37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Posts: 2
Default Recording automation AT THE SAME TIME as recording tracks

Hello!

Because I am going to be recording live concerts directly into PT, I need to be able to mix the tracks using automation at the same time as recording optimal tracks for possible future mastering/mixdown. So:

1. I need to record automation WITHOUT having an effect on the tracks that are being recorded to the HD.

2. I need to monitor the mix that I'm making and not the optimal tracks. Ie. - I can switch between hearing the automation that I'm writing and the original recording.

I'd just as easily record to DAT, but I need to export a .mp3 immediately following the show, so time conservation is a must. Please reply privately, because I don't follow this conference much. Thanks!!!

-Mike B
mtb@andrew.cmu.edu
__________________
Mike B
mtb@andrew.cmu.edu
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2000, 10:33 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Recording automation AT THE SAME TIME as recording tracks


Set up two discrete mixes... run the live mix through Aux returns (so you can use automation at the same time) and record onto Audio tracks. This way you have two tracks (an Aux and an Audio) for each input.

Then just set up a memory location to show all Auxs for the live mix and another memory location for all Audio tracks.

For monitoring purposes, route all of the audio track outputs through a Master fader and out an unused pair of outputs.

If you want to record the Aux mix just run it back into Pro Tools via busses or physically onto two audio tracks.

Jon Connolly
Digidesign Product Specialist
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2000, 09:03 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: Recording automation AT THE SAME TIME as recording tracks

I'm not sure if I'm saying the same thing, but just bus the audio tracks through individual (mono) aux tracks, do the automation on the aux tracks as you record (with the input monitor level on the record tracks at 0db of course). When you're done recording, just copy and paste the automation from the aux tracks to the appropriate disk tracks.

dc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2000, 10:43 PM
Ang1970 Ang1970 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 433
Default Re: Recording automation AT THE SAME TIME as recording tracks

Danny, it would be simpler just to do as Jon suggested. Make one audio track and one mono aux input for each input channel. That way Mike can set the aux inputs to solo safe, and do the mix on them, while soloing record channels (sort-of-but-not-quite-PFL) to his heart's content.

Of course, he could make each record channel send pre-fader at unity to busses and tap the busses with the aux's, but that would be double the work. Just set the aux to the same input as the record track.

And the next release of PT will have a real PFL, right Jon? <WBSEG>




------------------
Angelo Quaglia
AQ Productions
__________________

Cheers,
Angelo Quaglia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help recording more than 8 Tracks at a time. drumzalicious 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-31-2010 08:05 AM
Recording Two Tracks at the Same Time DWS327 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-21-2010 07:59 AM
Recording More than 2 tracks at a time... ibayntun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-13-2010 07:47 AM
Recording 24 tracks & video at the same time deardaddy Post - Surround - Video 12 02-12-2007 03:49 AM
Recording 8 tracks at the same time? jbraly Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 02-07-2002 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com