Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2021, 01:18 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,919
Default Command 8 LED meters are dead

It's ancient, I know, but I got it for almost nothing a couple of years ago, and now, in combination w/SSL UC1 plugin controller, I have a way to mix without looking at screens, and I love it.
The Command 8 is still working thru the latest versions of PT, I guess because of the simple midi communication it uses for connection.

The LED meters don't work. They never did. Except I'm quite shure I remember them working before, but only slightly lighting up the -48db LED. But I didn't care, and just left it. I remember searching for a way to have them be "louder" without succes.

Now, as I'm putting together a setup w/UC1 that lets me mix without looking at screens, I really could use the visual feedback of those meters.

I did the Command 8 utility check, and the LEDs themselves are working fine, so I guess it's a question of PT meter data not getting to the C8. Everything else is working fine.

Any thoughts? Anything at all.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2021, 02:20 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: Command 8 LED meters are dead

Thinking again, I'm pretty certain that the LED meters worked with PT10, but I found them almost useless because only the bottom two would light up, simply because track levels were mostly under -15dbfs or so.

And I guess with all the new functionality of meters in PT, they didn't bother to preserve C8 compatibility.

I tried "Pro tools classic" option in metering preferences, and all the other options, without any luck.

Oh, well…
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2021, 02:27 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,166
Default Re: Command 8 LED meters are dead

Sorry, but C8 end of support date was something like summer of 2017. I know for a fact it works with PT10 but current systems may have a problem.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2021, 02:33 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: Command 8 LED meters are dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Sorry, but C8 end of support date was something like summer of 2017. I know for a fact it works with PT10 but current systems may have a problem.
Shure. But everything else works fine with the C8, nothing wrong except the meters. I'm using it quite extensively, more and more, now that I have the "virtual SSL console" functionality of the UC1.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2021, 05:45 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: Command 8 LED meters are dead

HA!
I solved it!
I uninstalled EUCon, restarted and Voi-la, PT feeds meter signals to the old C8! And with 'peak volume' selected in prefs, and input monitoring off, I get the visual feedback that I need on the Command 8.

I haven't found the Control app on ipad to be anything for me, anyway.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2021, 02:16 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 582
Default Re: Command 8 LED meters are dead

I use the Command 8 in conjunction with the PT Control app and see the same behavior. The little meters on the C8 are almost worthless IMO, they're basically activity lights.

It's stated somewhere that Eucon takes over metering priority if used with another control protocol. So it's not just a C8 issue.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2021, 02:21 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,166
Default Re: Command 8 LED meters are dead

Oh yea, I actually forgot it because there is absolutely zero reason to use ipad with my live rig. EUCON not installed.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2021, 02:23 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: Command 8 LED meters are dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
The little meters on the C8 are almost worthless IMO, they're basically activity lights.
Shure. But that's the only thing I need them for; when mixing off-screen, they tell me where there's activity.


Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
It's stated somewhere that Eucon takes over metering priority if used with another control protocol. So it's not just a C8 issue.
Right. That's what I'm seeing.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command 8 - Meters Not Showing in 2018.7 Siegfried Meier Pro Tools 2018 7 03-16-2019 10:12 AM
Any suggestion? control 24 meters dead in PT work in Vegas mode crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 03-28-2013 03:29 PM
Dead D-command mark linett ICON & C|24 1 01-14-2011 08:02 PM
D-Command output Meters DEAD? subwoof Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-26-2010 02:19 PM
Command 8 dead fader already?!! mantaray ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 08-24-2006 05:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com