Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-02-2022, 01:32 PM
resonatee resonatee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 44
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtmusic View Post
However, I discovered a new aspect of my bug. If I follow my same operations while in Grid mode, everything works the way it should. My bug only happens when I create the clip by consolidating in Slip mode, which could be why some may have trouble reproducing this bug.
Just re-created this bug. When you consolidate to create an empty region WHILE in slip mode, the notes entered into the clip cannot be selected/quantized/moved. BUT, if you do not consolidate to create a region and simply record the notes creating a new region, everything works as it should....
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-02-2022, 02:04 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 286
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

I'm also grateful about the MIDI improvements, especially the copy-clips/sample-rounding fix.

I'm also concerned about this apparent new Quantization bug.

I'm still holding out for a simple "Input Quantize On/Off" Shortcut.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-02-2022, 06:15 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 404
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Had an extensive session last night and would like to share my discoveries:

Having taken note that the recent fixes are more likely to work in newly created 2022.6 sessions, I decided to try and import only MIDI stems into 2022.6 from a 2022.5 session without importing the session data.

Before exporting the MIDI stems I set the whole session to 120BPM (44.1kHz) and made sure there were no alignment issues. I also created a quantized copy of each stem as a test for 2022.6 import accuracy.

Unfortunately, after importing the stems into 2022.6 the notes appeared misaligned. Even if quantized before export.
Moreover, the total bar length fell short by some samples (can't recall, but short).

As a second test, I imported the same stems into Studio One.
These imports were also visibly misaligned.

This leads me to conclude that the issue was "embedded" into the MIDI file when created in 2022.5.
Before 2022.6 can be effective, I need a way to refresh the MIDI data in the stems since quantizing and resaving in 2022.6 didn't work.

So the next idea is to correct the alignment issues of each stem using another DAW (Studio One) then quantize & save as a new MIDI file (according to Studio One calculations).

Hopefully, this will enable me to import "refreshed" MIDI stems into 2022.6 and go about arranging the parts without previous alignment issues.

2nd Discovery:

The other unusual behavior I've experienced in 2022.6 is a when trying to lasso a group of MIDI notes. This was random & occurred a few times. When lassoing the group of notes, the VI made a high pitch & distorted sound and I was unable to select the notes as a group.
Only the last note lassoed would select. After restarting PT I was able to select the notes as a group normally without the weird sound.
This happened with 3 different VI's.

Update: I have not experienced this yet in my new "refreshed" session. (See next comment)

Hope these discoveries help add to the appreciated list of fixes so far.
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.7|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 w/Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Kontakt Player|Studio Drummer|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory|Kush Audio

Last edited by take77; 07-03-2022 at 04:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-02-2022, 09:48 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 404
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Yes! Importing the test stem into another DAW (Studio One) then quantizing and re-saving the file refreshed the MIDI clip/note data.

I've now successfully imported all the sessions MIDI stems and all are aligned and ready for final arrangements I've been eager to do.

Cut & Insert function working as desired and I'm finally able to arrange each song version without tedium.
I'm still playing it safe by not changing or fine tuning section tempos until after all cuts/inserts are finished.

At least now I know how to give problematic MIDI clips created by the previous MIDI engine a fresh start in 2022.6!

Feels really good being able to make changes to the arrangement on the fly and go forward with the musical vision.
I'm so used to manually re-aligning that I'm flying through my workflow. Enjoying the making of the music!!!
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.7|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 w/Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Kontakt Player|Studio Drummer|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory|Kush Audio

Last edited by take77; 07-08-2022 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-03-2022, 12:33 PM
mtmusic mtmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 27
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by resonatee View Post
Just re-created this bug. When you consolidate to create an empty region WHILE in slip mode, the notes entered into the clip cannot be selected/quantized/moved. BUT, if you do not consolidate to create a region and simply record the notes creating a new region, everything works as it should....
Glad you could recreate it! Yeah, there are a few easy workarounds, including just consolidating an empty region on the grid instead of in slip. The bug could definitely be a lot worse. That being said, sometimes if I don't have my MIDI keyboard set up, consolidating the clip is a fast and easy way for me to make a note, and the bug is really annoying in that sense! Do we have any mods or anyone that will pass this bug and the quantizing notes bug on to the powers that be?
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2022.6
macOS Monterey 12.3
Macbook Pro 2021, M1 Max, 64GB RAM
Universal Audio Apollo x16 (x3)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-05-2022, 01:45 PM
resonatee resonatee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 44
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

If you are on current support plan, you can acces my avid and there is the My Support menu on the top, there you choose Access The Support Portal. Has anyone already reported this bug?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-05-2022, 04:16 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,864
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by resonatee View Post
If you are on current support plan, you can acces my avid and there is the My Support menu on the top, there you choose Access The Support Portal. Has anyone already reported this bug?
I haven't reported it yet as I don't feel I have enough details about it yet. But I made a new thread post about it where I show what's going on in a video:

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=420833
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2022.4
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 11.6.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-06-2022, 06:49 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,000
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
I'm still holding out for a simple "Input Quantize On/Off" Shortcut.
It looks like you can make one. Open Keyboard Shortcuts and search "input q" - top hit is "Event Operations: Input Quantize". Is that not it?
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS 12.4 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-06-2022, 10:19 AM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 286
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
It looks like you can make one. Open Keyboard Shortcuts and search "input q" - top hit is "Event Operations: Input Quantize". Is that not it?
Unfortunately not. That just opens the Event Operations Window and sets it to "Input Quantize" (which I've been doing with EuCon for 12 years already). You still have to drag the mouse over and click the little checkbox to Enable/Disable it, which can be a drag when using a hi-res, widescreen display.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-06-2022, 11:13 AM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 670
Default Re: A Happy Thank You for the 2022.6 MIDI fixes

Having all kinds of issues here. Adjusting midi note lengths with the smart tool and also option drag duplicating is giving me constant crashes with this error. The midi was created with studio One and imported into the session. Even consolidating has no fix. Also, The original session was made with 2021.12

When I open this session in 2021.12, I do not get the error.

It seems the forum will software will not let me paste the error code without an access denied
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2021.12

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2021.12, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the MIDI zoom on the edit window broken in 2022.05 Windows? snowplaysmusic Pro Tools 1 06-17-2022 06:44 PM
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 03:59 AM
Midi Event List Bug 2022.4.0 blastula Pro Tools 3 05-19-2022 02:32 PM
Midi Editing freezes 2022.4 philgrab Pro Tools 1 05-01-2022 03:52 PM
7.4 MIDI timing and Unmount fixes gonzolagonda Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-13-2007 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com