Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 09-19-2022, 07:59 AM

Default Just finished mixing my first film and I have... questions!

Hi all! Just finished editing and mixing the audio for an indie short file (14 minutes) and I collected a list of questions I had during the process. I have a lot of experience mixing music, but this is the first time I had ever touched audio for video.
  1. They sent me OMF and MXF files. I open the OMF in PT Studio and... it seemed to work just fine. What would you normally expect to get when someone sent you "a film to mix"? (Note: all the audio automation and cuts and such were correctly in the PT file, and it was really easy for me to pick it up and make a bunch of edits, so I'm thinking I did it "right"?)
  2. When it comes to mixing, what are some "standard" ways to deal with room tone? I used some raw room tone they sent, re-recorded a bit of background foley with the producer that seemed off, but ultimately was copy and pasting little chunks of random room tone to fill in some of the "blanks". It made me wonder, though: is the "right" way to do this just to dialog-isolate all the voices in iZotope RX, then add room tone "underneath" everything? Is it normal to "switch" the room tone to the other mic right as the camera changes from one actor to the other? (That's what they gave me, so that's what I did).