Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Old 03-19-2012, 01:44 PM

Default New Protools Workstation Questions.

Hello, I am fairly new to protools, Last i owned it was back in Protools 8 M-powerd on the PC, then had some computer issues and took a break from recording till now and I want to build a reliable workstation for protools. I have most of my tools such as an Eleven rack audio interface, Protools 10 softwere, Studio monitors and the such, but I am looking for a computer to dedicate all this stuff too.
My first issue was MAC vs PC and it seems both are great, but macs are less of a headache in the end and I am leaning to give Mac a try since I have never before, I know I will get conflicting answers for this question ,b ut is macs price really worth the less of the headache and compatability issues some pc's run into? that is a small issue at the moment my biggest dilema is my choice of macs. Mac Pro MC560ll/z has a 1TB HDD and 3GB of DDR3 ram with an Intel Xeon quad processor. And my other is the I mac 27inch with a 1TB HDD 4GB DDR3 Ram and an I5 quad core. the price diffrence is roughly $600-$700 and after upgrading two HDD's and the Ram of the already exspensive Mac pro it will be roughly $1000 diffrence. My issue in these are is haveing two or more HDD's to dedicate to diffrent things have 12GB ram really going to be worth $1000 in the end or Getting an Imac and running an external HDD (which I know will be a bit slower) be just as good for me so i can use the left over$1000 to upgrade other equipment or pay bills with.

Any imput is great, i am kind of leaning twords sucking it up and going with the Mac Pro, but if my mind can honestly be changed i would not mind an extra $1000 to play with.
Old 03-19-2012, 07:08 PM