Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2012, 04:33 PM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Clip Gain -- Ahead or Behind Inserts?

Hi All,

Kind of a newbie, so if this has been answered a gazillion times, I apologize. Didn't find it on a cursory scan. The subject pretty much says it all: I'm wondering if individual clip gain(s) happen before or after the channel inserts?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2012, 04:58 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Clip Gain -- Ahead or Behind Inserts?

Clip gain is pre-inserts. So, before.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2012, 05:26 PM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Clip Gain -- Ahead or Behind Inserts?

Thanks.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2012, 10:01 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Clip Gain -- Ahead or Behind Inserts?

Easy rule of thumb to remember is that anything that alters the actual audio file/wavform, be it clip gain, audiosuite rendering, elastic time/pitch, etc, is going to be pre-fader/insert.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjusting Clip Gain On More Than One Clip Blank Frank macOS 17 05-15-2015 06:34 PM
AudioSuite Gain/Normalize also on Clip Gain A-n-d-i macOS 0 03-13-2014 12:46 PM
Export Clip With Clip Gain BobbyDazzler Pro Tools 10 0 03-03-2013 03:06 PM
Clip gain on clip groups: bug or feature? idris Post - Surround - Video 6 01-02-2013 10:48 PM
Clip gain??? calle.vs Post - Surround - Video 10 02-15-2009 03:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com