Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-24-2009, 11:47 AM

Exclamation Pro tools 8 track meters???

Hi folks - like all of us here I'm new to PT8 but I am a little disgruntled at the new numbers in the mix window that correspond with the audio meters.

On the left side of the track o.odb is about 3/4 up and on the right side of the track 0.0db is at the very top of the meter.

Why is this - is it to refeerence something?If so what?

Where should I be looking for example in a 24 bit session to make sure I'm not getting too hot or even worse clipping?Is it the 0.0db on the left of the meter or the 0.0 on the right of the meter???????????

Please please someone tell me how stupid I'm probably being and let me know.

Regards, Baris
Old 01-24-2009, 12:13 PM

Default Re: Pro tools 8 track meters???

Quote:
Originally Posted by barismanco123 View Post
Where should I be looking for example in a 24 bit session to make sure I'm not getting too hot or even worse clipping?Is it the 0.0db on the left of the meter or the 0.0 on the right of the meter???????????
The numbers on the left apply to the fader. The numbers on the right go with the meter. Clipping would be indicated on the meter.

I think that's what you are asking for.
Old 01-24-2009, 12:46 PM

I think I may understand what you are saying?

So I should be concerned when the audio is close to peaking on the numbers to the right side of the meter?
In fact it clearly shows a red peak light on the right side if I hit 0.0 db.

Am I getting this.

But if that is the case then why do we have the numbers on the left of the meter but when I exceed 0.0 db there it does "not" tell me I'm peaking

Am I peaking???

The 2 refrence levels are throwing me off still.