Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2006, 06:14 PM
4thfloorstudio 4thfloorstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SHERMAN OAKS CA
Posts: 7
Default can you tap out patterns/create patterns in strike

Hi does anyone know If and how to tap out patterns or create patterns with a keyboard/midi drum pad.

I know you can trigger sounds but how do you get those triggered sounds to show up and stay in the pattern ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2006, 06:30 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: can you tap out patterns/create patterns in st

Quote:
I know you can trigger sounds but how do you get those triggered sounds to show up and stay in the pattern ?
Record them to a MIDI/Instrument track.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2006, 12:10 PM
songman songman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 693
Default Re: can you tap out patterns/create patterns in st

Yes but then you do not have it ready and handy for a different session. The question has been asked several times and since it does not get answered I think the answer is clear.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2006, 12:21 PM
hemloc hemloc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 227
Default Re: can you tap out patterns/create patterns in st

If you're just gonna 'tap out' patterns, you don't need Strike to do that...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:14 AM
4thfloorstudio 4thfloorstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SHERMAN OAKS CA
Posts: 7
Default Re: can you tap out patterns/create patterns in st

I think the AIR team is doing a great job,BUT If you cant do what I consider basic things that a real drum machine can do they really missed the boat on this one.

With a drum machine you can tap out patterns in real time with a keyboard or drum trigger edit ,save and play them like a drummer would.who wants to pencil in notes like some freekin robot.

Its a real shame and please correct me If i'm wrong( i would love to hear this is not so)
but this is just a fancy sampler and is useless to get the job done.So I dont get why they have certain keys they will trigger different sounds when those triggered sounds can not be put in the pattern as its happening and saved.this is a huge blunder. I mean drum machines have been doing this for years

So If your telling me I have to make patterns on the midi time line in pro tools well that still sucks and is combersome to do.

OK DIGI tell me this is not so , or at least we are working on that?AND it will be included soon

Heres what I think.Put down the digital probes and ask some musicians how they work and make music
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike Drum Patterns jPaul Virtual Instruments 2 02-03-2011 05:09 PM
How Do I create patterns from scratch in Strike? jlasoul Virtual Instruments 5 02-08-2009 12:54 PM
Strike user patterns magnoliaman Virtual Instruments 0 01-29-2008 01:58 PM
Patterns in Strike songman Virtual Instruments 0 09-07-2006 05:49 AM
What are you using to create drum patterns/tracks PastorBrian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 03-18-2004 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com