Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2005, 12:50 AM
Riccardo Corbari Riccardo Corbari is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 212
Default External midi key can\'t control virtual instrument

Hi. This is my setup:

G5 dual 1,8
OS 10.4.2
PT 6.9.2 cs3
Midi I/O

I can't play vistrual instruments in PT (like Mach5) from an external keyboard. I tried different keyboards on different midi ports, even if I route the midi to M5, the keyboard still control itself. Otherwise, M5 plays if I click on its keyboard on screen. Do you have ideas? Thank you,
__________________
Studio Fuoriporta - Italy... verily everywhere...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:11 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,676
Default Re: External midi key can\'t control virtual instrument

Hi,

Have you setup your AMS (audio midi setup)
Have you installed the driver for your midi i/o, include on your install CD.
Have set midi input to all on your midi channels.
Are you routing the midi channel to the appropiate midi instrument.

Try trashing the AMS prefs and building it again.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you move virtual instrument libraries to an external HD? smurfdaddydog Virtual Instruments 2 12-04-2013 02:58 PM
How to control Virtual Instruments via external Midi-Keyboard? Sonic-B Virtual Instruments 5 05-23-2011 02:36 AM
PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument Von_Dingle Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 01-13-2009 03:13 PM
MIDI and Virtual Instrument Performance? Tbassist4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-07-2008 06:10 PM
Odd Midi/Virtual Instrument Problems with PT7+ GlennR01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-17-2006 06:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com