Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2021, 03:07 PM
tenchijin2 tenchijin2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 114
Default Intel Iris XE Graphics compatibility

Hi,
I'm way behind the curve on this stuff. I am looking to do a full HDX upgrade from Pro Tools 12, but this will also mean replacing my PC with a laptop.
I'm looking at this one from Dell:
https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/dell...8ea3XNTdUlQbGc

I'm not certain the chipset is right but it probably is. However it's the low-end graphics card that has me concerned. Is this going to work?

My plan is to get one of the HDX core PCIe cards with the thunderbolt module (since I can't install it on the laptop directly)

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2021, 12:40 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,591
Default Re: Intel Iris XE Graphics compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenchijin2 View Post
Hi,
I'm way behind the curve on this stuff. I am looking to do a full HDX upgrade from Pro Tools 12, but this will also mean replacing my PC with a laptop.
I'm looking at this one from Dell:
https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/dell...8ea3XNTdUlQbGc

I'm not certain the chipset is right but it probably is. However it's the low-end graphics card that has me concerned. Is this going to work?

My plan is to get one of the HDX core PCIe cards with the thunderbolt module (since I can't install it on the laptop directly)

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you,
I really don't know for sure, but I'm guessing it would work - I've never had any issues with standard video cards at least.

Here's an article you should probably look at to research it further:

Pro Tools System Requirements and Compatibility
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2021, 01:06 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,100
Default Re: Intel Iris XE Graphics compatibility

1. Graphics should be ok. Pro Tools is not really a graphics hog like some video edit or gaming apps can be.
2. You might want to up the CPU cache to 24Mb: https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/lapt...15-9510-laptop

Let us know how this rig works out!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac mini Intel UHD Graphics 630 ? (Audio and some video works) lanstrad macOS 2 12-28-2019 08:49 PM
Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB to slow? - MacBookPro Sir Hannes Pro Tools 12 1 05-16-2016 03:02 AM
MP8: Are Intel i5/H67 graphics sufficient? kelp Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 07-03-2011 07:23 PM
Intel I3 & Integrated Graphics Usable? ValkRider Pro Tools 9 3 01-23-2011 02:57 PM
Two Graphics cards in an Intel MacPro 8 Core for Post joepopp Post - Surround - Video 5 10-23-2007 04:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com