Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:54 AM
soloan soloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21
Default 2.8GHz Quad-Core with D-Show Profile for live recording?

Hi.

I am going to purchase the latest "One 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem” processor" Mac Pro with 3GB (three 1GB) memory. It will be used with D-Show Profile for about 64 tracks live recording in 48k. So the inputs come from D-Show and I will monitor the signal through Aurora 16 connecting to the accel process card.

Any known issue with this configuration? What do you think if I use 2 internal SATA harddisk(system on a separate one)?

Do I need to use a specific ver of Protools(I plan to install Snow Leopard and PTHD 8.04) to match the firmware/software of the D-Show?

Please direct me to any related topics also.

Thanks.

Cheers,
Soloan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2010, 09:44 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: 2.8GHz Quad-Core with D-Show Profile for live recording?

You need PTHD3 as for 64 tracks you will use 2 connectors/ 2 cards and if you need to monitor thru an external IO box that must be then connected to the third card. Are you sure you need to monitor? I mean you have a d-show system that you can use right? You can mix down to assignables lets say 1 and 2 (PT output 49&50) and patch these back to any free input channels. Then you can listen to these channels if you need to monitor but pushing a solo on a input channel would be the same so I don't think there is that much of a point in "monitoring" anything. And if you are not running the show then you have no control over gains and stuff anyway... you would need to go and tap on the FOH engineers shoulder for each problem and he might be busy anyway... So as long as he/she is not pushing the gains and all the lines work you will be fine.

But yeah, AFAIK you can monitor thru an external box but I think you need to get word clock from FOH rack to your box for it all to work as D-Show will be the master clock device.

You can choose whatever Pro Tools version you like (from the ones that were available since Venue systems are out at least)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2010, 12:32 AM
soloan soloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21
Default Re: 2.8GHz Quad-Core with D-Show Profile for live recording?

Digidesigner, Thanks for the reply.

I am not the FOH engineer for the show. So you are right, I will have to rely on the FOH guy heavily.

It seems there is no compatibility problem on the latest Mac Pros with Protools, right? So it doesnt matter if I buy the lastest one?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2010, 03:01 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: 2.8GHz Quad-Core with D-Show Profile for live recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soloan View Post
Digidesigner, Thanks for the reply.

I am not the FOH engineer for the show. So you are right, I will have to rely on the FOH guy heavily.

It seems there is no compatibility problem on the latest Mac Pros with Protools, right? So it doesnt matter if I buy the lastest one?
No, no check the Pro Tools Mac section of the board, I see a bunch of people having problems with the new computers. But I haven't really looked into this too much so please do your own reading and see what would be the safest machine. If tracking is the only work this computer needs to do then get the most stable PCIe machine as even an G5 would handle the job running at only 5% or so. I'm not suggesting you to get a G5 but just to let you know there is very little for a current computer to do while recording so there is no absolute need to have the most current machine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live recording from Venue Profile possible with Digico UB Madi & PT10 CPTK? briancares VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 09-11-2012 08:04 AM
Actually...Mac 2.8GHZ Quad i7, 27-inch screen ROCKS !!! Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 02-17-2010 06:21 PM
Two 2.8GHz HELP, PLEASE!!!!! Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Harpertown” processors LaForestPoetry18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-07-2008 06:07 AM
live recording on quad core g5 power mac bl_nd m_c General Discussion 1 04-19-2006 01:53 AM
AMD’s Quad-Core Processors to Show Up Soon Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-04-2006 12:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com