Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:07 AM
JNS JNS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 514
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by AREED View Post
Is the Magma 4 slot supported? Anyone using it?
I have a HD2accell (PCI) Want to go Mac Pro and dont think I will ever need 6 slots.
How much does Avid charge to update cards for HD2?
Not sure what to do.
Yes, I've got the Expressbox4 with my MacPro and so far no problems. I have the Pro Tools cards in the chassis and a UAD-2 in the computer. Just make sure you have the right load resistor installed for your particular chassis power supply. Check with Magma and they can fix you up on that. Easy to take care of.

Jeff
__________________
HD3 Accel with 2-192s(expanded) and Rosetta 800, PT 8.0.3cs2/10.5.8 on 8-core 2.8 GHz. MacPro with UAD-2 Solo/Duo and Magma Expressbox4 chassis, Sync I/O, Midi I/O, Control 24;
PTLE 8.0cs3 on Dual-core 2.3GHz. G5(PCIe), 003R
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:31 AM
JohnR424 JohnR424 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 39
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

The Magma upgrade PC board has basically a standard ATX motherboard footprint and as a result will fit in almost any 4u PC case, I have mine in a nice rackmount chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-19-2010, 09:03 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,740
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andi R View Post
you have to upgrade the chassis, too, sorry.

the only chassis that works with PCI-X Cards to a PCIe Mac Pro is the Magma PE6R4.

No other chassis will do what you need to do.

I am in the same boat as you are, that´s why I know.

here are some links:


http://www.magma.com/comersus_viewIt...?idProduct=183


http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...00&itemid=5031


the second link does not work any more because of the new AVID website; but I posted it because maybe somebody know how to find that site on the new avid website....

sorry for the bad news; but just out of curiousity: why do you want a Mac Pro? I am totally happy with my setup, no problems, stable as a rock, and it does everything I need....

Cheers!
To make the second link work (actually to make any of the old links work) is to add the digit 3 after the www like this:
http://www3.digidesign.com/index.cfm...00&itemid=5031
I tried it and the link like this does work.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-21-2010, 12:52 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Smile Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
http://www3.digidesign.com/index.cfm...00&itemid=5031
I tried it and the link like this does work.
yes, it does! thanks for the nice trick with the "3"
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-21-2010, 12:17 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 470
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

My swap was EXACTLY the same as yours..



G5 dual 2.7 8gb of ram with HD3 and Digi Branded magma P7R4


did the board set swap (PE6NE) only, no power supply swap etc.


now running mac pro 2009 octo core etc. etc. etc. with no issues.
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-21-2010, 10:28 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Smile Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

this is indeed very fascinating!
which Host Card did you get for your MacPro?
and were you able to use you old cables from the Chassis to the Host Card?

Cheers!
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-29-2010, 08:51 AM
soloan soloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Just bought PE6R4 full set. hopefully all go well.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-29-2010, 10:55 AM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 381
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Please report back to this thread and let us know how it goes.
There are many of us who are very interested in this.
Thanks...
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Mac Mini (2019)
3.2 Ghz - 6 Core i7
Mojave with 64 GB RAM
PT Ultimate (2019.10)
Motu 16a
C/24 Control Surface
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-15-2010, 07:03 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Question Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Quote:
Originally Posted by soloan View Post
Just bought PE6R4 full set. hopefully all go well.
how did it work out?
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-29-2010, 06:38 AM
soloan soloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21
Default Re: upgrading from PCIx to PCIe for P7R4 chassis

Thanks a lot. i have bought a brand new chassis finally.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Chassis to PCIx Chassis for TDM Laptop Rig Logichead Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-09-2013 01:42 PM
P7R4 Magma Chassis still supported in 8.0.3? insanesounds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 16 02-03-2011 12:59 PM
Your thoughts for upgrading from PCIx to PCIe now we have PT9 ampnerd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-07-2011 01:32 PM
Anyone using a P7R4 Expansion chassis ? DigitalMetal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 05-18-2009 05:37 AM
PCIx to PCIe K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-18-2008 06:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com