Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2011, 02:37 PM
JCK43232 JCK43232 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default Uninstall LE 8 before Installing 9??

Hello,

It is my understanding that PT9 will overwrite Pro Tools LE 8 if you install it on the same boot partition.

Is it better to uninstall Pro Tools LE 8 BEFORE installing Pro Tools 9 rather than having the installer for 9 overwrite the LE 8 installation??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2011, 02:44 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: Uninstall LE 8 before Installing 9??

Its best to buy a whole band new hard Drive and do a complete fresh install on the new Hard Drive and rebuild your complete system, if you cant or dont want to buy a new Hard Drive I would unistall Pro Tools 8 first.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell 5750 Precision Workstation
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit
CPU:*Intel Core Processor i7-10750H (6 Core, 12MB Cache, 2.60 GHz to 5.00 GHz,
Memory:32GB, 2X16GB,DDR4 2933Mhz Non-ECC
OS M.2 512GB PCIe NVMe, Record Intel 1TB SSD, 2T SSD, 1TB SSDAVID Fast Track C400
AVID Pro Tools 2021.3.1
JBL LSR4328P 8"
JBL LSR310S 10 inch Powered Studio Subwoofer*
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors
Alesis Elevate 3 Studio Monitors
M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2011, 03:07 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Uninstall LE 8 before Installing 9??

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus1900 View Post
Its best to buy a whole band new hard Drive and do a complete fresh install on the new Hard Drive and rebuild your complete system, if you cant or dont want to buy a new Hard Drive I would unistall Pro Tools 8 first.
I agree 100%.

That way, if things don't work out on the new drive, all you have to do is swap the old one and you have a working system.

Even if you don't do this... a reformat of the system drive, and installing all software fresh will improve your success rate greatly. While Avid will tell you installing over top is fine... You never know what software might affect your installation, and if certain plugins might be messing with it, old drivers, etc, etc. These are all things you will have to debug anyway if there is a problem with your system... so starting from scratch is the best way to avoid a lot of potential issues.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uninstall PT Before installing 10.3.3 RCN Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-28-2012 07:50 PM
what uninstall before PT 10 installing flautista Pro Tools 10 5 12-11-2011 06:12 AM
Uninstall 8.04 before installing PT9? xpandnz Windows 1 01-31-2011 11:54 PM
Uninstall 7.3 before Installing 7.4? GuyPicks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2008 06:42 PM
Uninstall 6.4 before installing 6.7? neonknight 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 24 11-10-2004 01:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com